For most 30 amp rigs the Progressive Industries EMS-PT30X is the one to buy: full voltage protection, 1,790 joules of surge suppression and a lifetime warranty. Fifty amp owners should compare the EMS-PT50X. Check the exact model’s automatic voltage and wiring-fault protection: products sold as surge protectors range from suppression with diagnostic lights to automatic shutoff.
Quick picks
Best overall, 30 amp

Progressive EMS-PT30X
Full EMS protection with a lifetime warranty, at a price the smart units can't match.
Best overall, 50 amp

Progressive EMS-PT50X
The same protection logic as the PT30X, doubled up for 50 amp service.
Best remote monitoring

Power Watchdog Gen II (30A)
Live voltage over WiFi from anywhere, and a surge module you replace instead of the whole unit.
Best readout at the pedestal

Surge Guard 34930
On-unit LCD showing live voltage and amp draw, plus connected-equipment cover.
Best permanent install

Progressive EMS-HW30C
Wires in behind the panel, so there is nothing to steal or forget.
How the eight units compare
| Model | Amps | Joules | Automatic voltage shutoff | Bluetooth | Replaceable module | Warranty | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Progressive EMS-PT30X | 30A | 1,790 | Yes | No | No | Lifetime, non-transferable, original owner only, and only on units bought from an authorised dealer or retailer | $$$ | Check price(opens in a new tab) |
| Power Watchdog Gen II (30A) | 30A | 3,000 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Limited lifetime, original purchaser only (does not transfer) | $$$$$ | Check price(opens in a new tab) |
| Surge Guard 34930 | 30A | 2,450 | Yes | No | No | Limited lifetime, plus a connected-equipment warranty with substantial conditions — see below | $$$ | Check price(opens in a new tab) |
| Camco 55301 | 30A | 2,800 | Yes | No | No | Not consistently published — see brand note | $$ | Check price(opens in a new tab) |
| Progressive EMS-HW30C | 30A | 1,790 | Yes | No | No | Lifetime, non-transferable, original owner and authorised dealers only. This model is named explicitly in PII's warranty document | $$$$ | Check price(opens in a new tab) |
| Progressive EMS-PT50X | 50A | 3,580 | Yes | No | No | Lifetime, non-transferable, original owner and authorised dealers only. Excludes the All-Weather Shield assembly | $$$$ | Check price(opens in a new tab) |
| Power Watchdog Gen II (50A) | 50A | 4,600–4,800 (published figures vary) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Lifetime | $$$$$ | Check price(opens in a new tab) |
| Surge Guard 44290 | 50A | 4,200 | Unconfirmed — conflicting manufacturer descriptions | No | No | Not clearly published for this model — confirm before relying on it | $$$$ | Check price(opens in a new tab) |
Surge protector or EMS? This is the decision that matters
A surge suppressor limits brief voltage transients. Automatic voltage shutoff is a separate function: it opens the supply when a specified fault persists beyond the model’s trip delay. The EMS models here combine those functions, with additional monitoring that varies by model.
These traces show voltage levels, not the alternating-current waveform. Heights and durations are illustrative; the two panels do not share a time scale.
1 · A brief voltage spike
Suppression limits a transient. It does not eliminate every spike, and it is not a guarantee against a direct lightning strike.
2 · Sustained low voltage
Sag → trip delay → power off → supply recovers → reconnect delay → power on. Exact thresholds and timing depend on the model and fault. Some faults prevent the initial connection.
Check the exact model: look for automatic high/low-voltage shutoff and its reconnect rules. “Surge protector” is used for different feature sets; diagnostic lights alone do not establish automatic shutoff. The EMS models discussed here combine suppression with supply monitoring.
Sources: NEMA’s explanation of clamping and residual voltage; Southwire’s 34930/34950 trip and reconnect instructions. The sketch does not represent a particular model’s timing to scale.
Do not infer shutoff from a diagnostic LED. An indicator may tell you the pedestal is miswired while leaving power connected. Check each fault’s stated response, including whether the unit refuses initial connection, trips while running, or only displays a warning.
The Camco 55301 includes automatic high/low-voltage disconnection and a reconnect delay in Camco’s published catalog. It should not be described as a suppressor without voltage shutoff. The Surge Guard 44290 has conflicting manufacturer descriptions; its diagnostic instructions and brochure do not establish automatic voltage disconnection. We therefore do not recommend it as a substitute for a documented EMS.
For more on these mechanisms, see EMS vs surge protector.
Thirty amp or fifty amp — get this right before anything else
Look at your shore power cord. A 30 amp rig has a three-prong TT-30 plug and a single 120V leg — 3,600 watts total. A 50 amp rig has a four-prong 14-50 plug and two 120V legs, giving 12,000 watts. That is not “a bit more power”, it is more than three times as much.
Buy the unit that matches your rig’s service. A suitable pedestal adapter may let a 50A RV use a 30A supply, where the equipment instructions permit, but the whole rig then shares 30A. Check adapter and cord ratings and reduce loads. See 30 amp vs 50 amp RV for the connections, or use the RV amp draw calculator to estimate the available load budget.
What joule ratings actually tell you
A joule rating describes surge-energy capability under the specified test conditions. It is not a lifetime fuel gauge or a prediction of how many storms a protector will survive. Compare the protected paths, let-through or clamping specifications, test conditions and failure indication as well as the number. The NEMA Surge Protection Institute explains why joule comparisons can mislead.
The Camco 55301 and Progressive EMS-PT30X both include automatic voltage shutoff. Their published joule figures do not tell you which faults each one detects, its trip thresholds, or how long it waits before reconnecting.
Surge components can degrade or fail. Follow the model’s surge-failure indicator and replacement instructions. For example, Southwire’s 34930/34950 instructions warn that other functions can continue after surge protection fails; continued power does not prove continued suppression.
Portable or hardwired
Portable units plug in at the pedestal, between the post and your shore cord. They move between rigs, need no installation, and can be borrowed by a friend. They also sit outside in the weather, are exposed to whoever walks past in the night, and are one more thing to forget when you leave.
Hardwired units install inside the rig between the shore inlet and the distribution panel, usually with a remote display somewhere you can see it. Nothing to steal, nothing to forget, no weather exposure. The trade is that you need to do the wiring, and moving it to a different rig is a project rather than an afternoon.
Theft is not hypothetical here. A visible EMS at a pedestal is a few hundred dollars sitting unattended. Most portable units have a lock ring or bracket, and using it is worth the ten seconds. We go through the full trade-off — including a warranty asymmetry that works against hardwired units — in hardwired vs portable.
The units in detail
Best overall, 30 amp
Progressive Industries EMS-PT30X Portable Electrical Management System
Why it's here
This is the unit most experienced RV owners end up recommending, and the specification explains why. Three-mode surge protection covers line-to-neutral, line-to-ground and neutral-to-ground. Low voltage protection cuts power below 104V sustained for six seconds. High voltage protection is staged — above 132V it waits three seconds, above 140V it acts within one second, and above 156V it disconnects within 60 milliseconds. That graduated response is more sophisticated than a single threshold, and it is the sort of detail that does not fit in a marketing bullet.
The lifetime warranty is the other half of the value. Progressive Industries now sits within Navico Group and the old domain redirects there, but the EMS line and its model numbers have carried over unchanged.
Full specifications
| Amperage | 30A |
|---|---|
| Voltage | 120V |
| Max watts | 3,600 |
| Joule rating | 1,790 |
| Max surge current | 44,000A |
| Protection modes | 3-mode (L-N, L-G, N-G) |
| Full EMS protection | Yes |
| Automatic Voltage Shutoff | Yes |
| Low-voltage cutoff | Below 104V for more than 6 seconds |
| High-voltage cutoff | Above 132V to below 140V for more than 3 s; above 140V to below 156V after 1 s; above 156V within 60 ms |
| Fault detection | Open ground, open neutral, reverse polarity, AC frequency |
| A/C compressor delay | 136-second connection/reconnection delay when required conditions are met |
| Replaceable surge module | No |
| Bluetooth | No |
| Display | Scrolling live voltage, current, frequency, current and previous error codes |
| Anti-theft | Built-in locking bracket |
| Timing Review | Timing and display checked 6 November 2026 against PTX manual ZX483/PRI-6005 (1221); exact boundary equality is not specified |
| Operating temperature | -40°C to +105°C |
| Housing | Lexan |
| Warranty | Lifetime, non-transferable, original owner only, and only on units bought from an authorised dealer or retailer |
| Warranty Return Shipping | Paid by PII |
| Self Test Delay | 136-second delay after successful checks, separate from voltage-trip timing |
Specifications verified August 10, 2026 from Progressive Industries EMS-PT30X instruction manual , Progressive Industries (PII) Lifetime Warranty document .
Strengths
- Full EMS protection — disconnects on low and high voltage, not just spikes
- Lifetime warranty with return shipping paid by the manufacturer
- Staged high-voltage response: faster cutoff the further out of range the supply goes
- Lexan housing rated from -40°C to +105°C
- Error-code display tells you what the pedestal is doing wrong
Weaknesses
- At 1,790 joules, lower surge headroom than the Power Watchdog or Surge Guard
- No app or remote monitoring — you read it at the post
- Surge module is not user-replaceable
- Warranty is non-transferable and only valid on units bought from an authorised dealer — owners have reported claims refused on that basis
Fit: For 30A TT-30 service. Will not accept a 50A pedestal without an adapter, and an adapter does not give you 50A capacity.
Buy it if
You have a 30 amp rig and want the most protection per pound spent. This is the default recommendation for a reason.
Choose something else if
You want live monitoring from inside the rig, or you would rather install something permanent.
Best remote monitoring, 30 amp
Hughes Power Watchdog Gen II PWD30EPOW Smart Surge Protector with Auto Shutoff
Why it's here
The replaceable surge module is the genuinely interesting design decision here. Every other unit on this page is disposable in the sense that once its varistors are spent, that is the end of it. The Power Watchdog is built so a large spike costs you a cartridge instead.
This is the Gen II unit, which replaced the Bluetooth-only PWD30-EPO. The substantive change is WiFi alongside Bluetooth: the older model could only be read from within Bluetooth range, which meant standing near the rig. Gen II can be checked while you are out for the day, which is when a voltage problem is most useful to know about.
The older PWD30-EPO is still on sale at some retailers. Hughes no longer lists it, so we do not recommend it — but if you already own one, nothing about it has stopped working.
Two things in Hughes’ documentation are worth knowing before you buy: the warranty covers the original purchaser only, and the WiFi needs a 2.4 GHz network. Both are covered in our Power Watchdog review.
Full specifications
| Amperage | 30A |
|---|---|
| Voltage | 120V |
| Joule rating | 3,000 |
| Full EMS protection | Yes |
| Automatic Voltage Shutoff | Yes |
| Emergency power off | Yes |
| Replaceable surge module | Yes |
| Bluetooth | Yes |
| Wifi | Yes |
| App monitoring | Nearby direct Bluetooth readings; remote monitoring needs the Watchdog's 2.4 GHz link to an RV router or hotspot with Internet access, Hughes' service, and Internet access on your phone |
| Connectivity Notes | Reviewed 6 Nov 2026. Connect Bluetooth first to configure WiFi. Hughes' iOS listing documents Bluetooth access without Internet; check current app/platform support. Keep the RV router powered and in range |
| Fault detection | High and low voltage, open ground, open neutral, overcurrent |
| Weather rating | IP65 |
| Connection Bay | Lockable, lit clamshell |
| Display | Local status and fault indication, plus smartphone app readings |
| Wifi Band | 2.4 GHz radio; Hughes says most combined 2.4/5 GHz networks also work |
| Module Indicator | WatchDog logo turns red with an E9 code in the LCD window |
| App | Power WatchDog Gen2 (WiFi) — blue/white logo, Gen II units only |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime, original purchaser only (does not transfer) |
Specifications verified August 10, 2026 from Hughes Gen II WiFi setup - Bluetooth first, band compatibility and remote path , Hughes iOS app listing - offline Bluetooth release note, version 1.0.13 , Power Watchdog — Gen II surge protector range , Amazon listing, PWD30EPOW published specification , Power Watchdog FAQ — warranty, apps, WiFi band, module replacement .
Strengths
- 3,000 joules — meaningfully more surge headroom than the Progressive PT30X
- Replaceable surge module: after a big hit you swap a cartridge, not the unit
- WiFi as well as Bluetooth, so you can check the rig from outside Bluetooth range
- IP65 water resistance is an explicit published rating, which is uncommon here
- Lifetime warranty covering parts and labour
- Emergency power off cuts supply the moment a fault is detected
Weaknesses
- Substantially more expensive than the Progressive for protection that is comparable in practice
- Monitoring depends on an app — and WiFi monitoring needs the rig to have a connection
- You are paying for the EPO and the radios, not for better surge absorption
Fit: Portable 30A unit and the current generation. Replaces the Bluetooth-only PWD30-EPO. A hardwired Gen II variant (PWD30EPOHW) is also available.
Buy it if
You want to see what the pedestal is doing without walking to it — including when you are away from the rig — and you like that a surge hit means replacing a module rather than the whole unit.
Choose something else if
You will not use the app. Without it you are paying a large premium over the Progressive for protection that is broadly equivalent.
Best readout at the pedestal, 30 amp
Southwire Surge Guard 34930 Full Protection Portable with LCD Display
Why it's here
The connected equipment coverage is the part worth reading carefully — and having read it, we would not buy this unit for that reason. Southwire’s warranty document excludes damage caused by sustained low voltage, excludes direct lightning, pays out only where Southwire judges that the protector itself was defective, requires you to claim on your home insurance first, and permits one claim per household. Low voltage is the most common way park power damages a rig, so the exclusion removes the main scenario.
The separate limited lifetime warranty on the unit is also void once the protector has sacrificed itself — which is how these devices are designed to end their lives. Full detail in Surge Guard vs Progressive.
Buy this one for the LCD and the overheat detection, which are genuinely good. Not for the warranty.
The 128-second delay before restoring power after a fault exists to protect the air conditioning compressor, which needs its head pressure to equalise before restarting. It feels slow standing at the post. It is doing something useful.
Full specifications
| Amperage | 30A |
|---|---|
| Voltage | 120V |
| Max watts | 3,600 |
| Joule rating | 2,450 |
| Full EMS protection | Yes |
| Automatic Voltage Shutoff | Yes |
| Protection modes | 3-mode (L-N, L-G, N-G) |
| Clamping Voltage | Under 300 VAC |
| Max Spike Current | 6,500A per MOV |
| Low-voltage cutoff | Below 102V for more than 7 seconds |
| High-voltage cutoff | Above 136V for more than 7 seconds |
| Fault detection | Open ground, open neutral, reverse polarity, voltage on ground, overheating receptacle, overcurrent |
| High Neutral Current Trip | No |
| Receptacle Temp Trip | Yes |
| A/C compressor delay | 128-second reset delay |
| Replaceable surge module | No |
| Bluetooth | No |
| Display | LCD showing voltage and RMS amp draw |
| Anti-theft | Lock ring on cord |
| Receptacle | Commercial-grade brass |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime, plus a connected-equipment warranty with substantial conditions — see below |
| Warranty Notes | The limited lifetime warranty is void once the unit sacrifices itself, which is its normal end of life. The connected-equipment warranty excludes damage from sustained low voltage and from direct lightning, pays only where Southwire judges the protector itself defective, requires you to claim on home insurance first, and is limited to one claim per household. Non-transferable unless factory-fitted to the RV |
| Warranty Doc | Southwire 90606 G, Limited Lifetime & Connected Equipment Warranties |
Specifications verified August 10, 2026 from Southwire installation & operating instructions, models 34930/34950 (505-00152A) , Southwire product listing, model 34930 , Surge Guard Limited Lifetime & Connected Equipment Warranties (90606 G) .
Strengths
- LCD shows live voltage and RMS amp draw on the unit itself, no phone needed
- Detects an overheating plug or receptacle — a genuine fire risk the others do not check for
- 128-second reset delay protects the air conditioning compressor after a fault
- Anti-theft lock ring built into the cord
- Commercial-grade brass receptacle
Weaknesses
- Reading the display means walking to the pedestal
- Low-voltage cutoff at 102V is slightly lower than the Progressive units, so it tolerates worse supply for longer
- No replaceable surge module
- The connected-equipment warranty is far narrower than it sounds — it excludes low voltage and lightning, and the lifetime warranty voids once the unit does its job
Fit: 30A TT-30 service. The 50A counterpart in its voltage-protection manual is the 34950, not the diagnostic 44290.
Buy it if
You want the numbers visible without an app, and you value the connected-equipment cover.
Choose something else if
Your pedestal is awkward to reach, or you would rather monitor from inside.
Budget voltage protector
Camco PowerGrip 55301 30-Amp Voltage Protector with Surge Protection
Why it's here
Included honestly: this is entry-level equipment, not a cheaper equivalent of the units above. Camco’s catalog specifies a reconnect delay. It suppresses surges and disconnects on voltage it considers unsafe, and that already puts you ahead of an unprotected rig.
Be careful with model numbers across this range, because they are not interchangeable. The 55310 is a circuit analyzer at 1,050 joules that indicates faults but does not protect against them, and the 55306 is the 50 amp version at 4,200 joules. Buying by range name rather than model number is how people end up with a fault indicator when they wanted a protector.
Full specifications
| Amperage | 30A |
|---|---|
| Voltage | 120V |
| Joule rating | 2,800 |
| Full EMS protection | No |
| Automatic Voltage Shutoff | Yes |
| Voltage protection | Disconnects on detected high or low voltage |
| Fault detection | Diagnostic LEDs for wiring faults |
| A/C compressor delay | Yes |
| Replaceable surge module | No |
| Bluetooth | No |
| Display | LED indicators only |
| Warranty | Not consistently published — see brand note |
Specifications verified August 10, 2026 from Camco catalog — 55301 voltage shutoff and reconnect delay, reviewed 6 November 2026 , Camco 55301 published specification .
Strengths
- 2,800 joules of surge suppression at a fraction of the price of an EMS
- Disconnects on detected high or low voltage
- Diagnostic LEDs flag wiring faults before you plug the rig in
- Small and light enough to keep in a bay without thinking about it
Weaknesses
- LED diagnostics rather than detailed voltage/current readings; compare each fault response
- LED indicators only, so no voltage or current readout
- Warranty terms are not consistently published
Fit: Entry-level protection. Related models differ substantially: the 55310 circuit analyzer is 1,050 joules and provides fault indication only, and the 55306 is the 50A version at 4,200 joules. Check the model number, not the range name.
Buy it if
You currently plug in with no protection at all and the EMS price is genuinely out of reach. Something is very much better than nothing here.
Choose something else if
You can stretch to an EMS. The gap in what they protect against is larger than the gap in price.
Best permanent installation, 30 amp
Progressive Industries EMS-HW30C Hardwired Electrical Management System
Why it's here
Everything the PT30X does, permanently mounted, with a display you can read without going outside. For a rig you intend to keep, this is the version that stops being something you think about.
The stored error history is the underrated feature. If your air conditioning cut out overnight and you want to know whether the pedestal dipped, the unit can tell you. A portable unit that has since been unplugged cannot.
The 50 amp equivalent is the EMS-HW50C, rated at 3,580 joules and 88,000A.
Full specifications
| Amperage | 30A |
|---|---|
| Voltage | 120V |
| Joule rating | 1,790 |
| Max surge current | 44,000A |
| Protection modes | 3-mode |
| Response time | Under 1 nanosecond |
| Full EMS protection | Yes |
| Automatic Voltage Shutoff | Yes |
| Safe voltage range | Shuts down outside 104–132V |
| Fault detection | Open ground, open neutral, reverse polarity, miswired pedestal |
| A/C compressor delay | Yes |
| Installation | Hardwired inside the rig |
| Display | Remote scrolling display — voltage, current, frequency, error codes |
| Replaceable surge module | No |
| Bluetooth | No |
| Warranty | Lifetime, non-transferable, original owner and authorised dealers only. This model is named explicitly in PII's warranty document |
Specifications verified August 10, 2026 from Progressive Industries EMS-HW30C & EMS-HW50C instruction manual .
Strengths
- Installed inside the rig — cannot be stolen, cannot be left behind, never rained on
- Remote display scrolls voltage, current, frequency and stored error codes
- Lifetime manufacturer warranty
- Surge response under one nanosecond, 44,000A surge current rating
Weaknesses
- Requires wiring work between the shore inlet and the distribution panel
- Moving it to another rig is a job, not a decision
- Same 1,790 joules as the portable PT30X, at a higher price for the installation convenience
Fit: Permanent installation between the shore cord and the distribution panel. Cannot be stolen from a pedestal and is not exposed to weather, but requires wiring work and is not transferable between rigs in an afternoon. The 50A equivalent is the EMS-HW50C at 3,580 joules.
Buy it if
The rig is a keeper and you are tired of carrying a portable unit in and out. The stored error-code history is genuinely useful for diagnosing an intermittent pedestal.
Choose something else if
You are not comfortable doing the wiring and would need to pay for installation, or you change rigs often.
Best overall, 50 amp
Progressive Industries EMS-PT50X Portable Electrical Management System
Why it's here
The direct 50 amp equivalent of our overall pick, and it earns the same recommendation for the same reasons. Rated at 50A across 120/240V service for a 12,000 watt capacity, with the full fault-detection set: over and under voltage, open ground, open neutral, reverse polarity and AC frequency monitoring.
Note the warranty carve-out. The lifetime cover applies to the unit, but Progressive excludes the All-Weather Shield assembly from it. That is a reasonable exclusion for a weather-exposed plastic part, and it is better to know now than at the point of claiming.
Full specifications
| Amperage | 50A |
|---|---|
| Voltage | 120/240V |
| Max watts | 12,000 |
| Joule rating | 3,580 |
| Max surge current | 88,000A |
| Protection modes | Multi-mode |
| Full EMS protection | Yes |
| Automatic Voltage Shutoff | Yes |
| Low-voltage cutoff | Below 104V |
| High-voltage cutoff | Above 132V |
| Fault detection | Open ground, open neutral, reverse polarity, AC frequency |
| A/C compressor delay | Yes |
| Replaceable surge module | No |
| Bluetooth | No |
| Display | Scrolling live voltage and current per line, frequency, current and previous error codes |
| Display Review | Shared PT30X/PT50X manual checked 6 November 2026 |
| Operating temperature | -40°C to +105°C |
| Housing | Lexan |
| Warranty | Lifetime, non-transferable, original owner and authorised dealers only. Excludes the All-Weather Shield assembly |
Specifications verified August 10, 2026 from Progressive Industries EMS-PT30X & EMS-PT50X instruction manual .
Strengths
- 3,580 joules and an 88,000A surge current rating
- Same EMS protection logic as the 30 amp version, across both legs
- Lifetime warranty on the unit
- Rugged pull handle and locking bracket — small details that matter at a pedestal
Weaknesses
- The All-Weather Shield assembly is explicitly excluded from the lifetime warranty
- Bulky and heavy relative to the 30 amp units
- No app monitoring
Fit: For 50A NEMA 14-50 service, which is two 120V legs rather than 240V to the coach. Not a substitute for a 30A unit if your rig is 30A.
Buy it if
You have 50 amp service and want the same protection the PT30X gives 30 amp owners.
Choose something else if
You want live remote monitoring, in which case the Power Watchdog PWD50-EPO is the comparison to make.
Most surge headroom, 50 amp
Hughes Power Watchdog Gen II PWD50EPOW Smart Surge Protector with Auto Shutoff
Why it's here
The 50 amp Gen II Power Watchdog, replacing the Bluetooth-only PWD50-EPO. It publishes the highest surge rating in this group, adds WiFi to the Bluetooth monitoring, and keeps the replaceable surge module.
On the joule figure: retailer listings publish both 4,600 and 4,800 for this model and we could not find manufacturer documentation confirming either. We show the range rather than picking the flattering number. If the distinction matters to your decision, ask Hughes before buying — and treat any site quoting a single precise figure with confidence as having done less checking than it appears.
Full specifications
| Amperage | 50A |
|---|---|
| Voltage | 120/240V |
| Joule rating | 4,600–4,800 (published figures vary) |
| Full EMS protection | Yes |
| Automatic Voltage Shutoff | Yes |
| Emergency power off | Yes |
| Replaceable surge module | Yes |
| Bluetooth | Yes |
| Wifi | Yes |
| App monitoring | Nearby direct Bluetooth readings; remote monitoring needs an RV router or hotspot with Internet access, Hughes' service and your phone's Internet |
| Connectivity Notes | Gen II setup guidance reviewed 6 Nov 2026. Establish Bluetooth first. The Watchdog uses 2.4 GHz; most combined 2.4/5 GHz networks also work |
| Low-voltage cutoff | Below 104V |
| High-voltage cutoff | Above 132V |
| Restore Delay | 90 seconds of stable supply |
| Fault detection | High and low voltage, open ground, open neutral, overcurrent |
| Weather rating | IP65 |
| Display | Local status and fault indication, plus smartphone app readings |
| Warranty | Lifetime |
Specifications verified August 10, 2026 from Hughes Gen II WiFi setup - Bluetooth first, band compatibility and remote path , Power Watchdog — Gen II surge protector range , Amazon listing, PWD50EPOW published specification .
Strengths
- The highest published surge rating of the units here, at 4,600–4,800 joules
- Replaceable surge module
- WiFi and Bluetooth monitoring of live voltage, amperage and wattage
- Automatic fault shutoff; model-specific trip and reconnect timing applies
- Lifetime warranty
Weaknesses
- The most expensive unit on this page by a clear margin
- Published joule figures disagree between retailers — see below
- The premium buys radios and EPO, not fundamentally better protection
Fit: Portable 50A unit and the current generation, replacing the Bluetooth-only PWD50-EPO.
Buy it if
You have 50 amp service, you will genuinely use remote monitoring, and you want the most surge absorption available in a portable unit.
Choose something else if
You want the lowest cost route to full EMS protection. The Progressive PT50X protects against the same faults for considerably less.
Diagnostic suppressor — documentation conflict
Southwire Surge Guard 44290 Portable Surge Protector with Enhanced Diagnostics
Why it's here
The 44290 product page mentions automatic shutoff, but Southwire’s RV power brochure classifies the enhanced-diagnostics models as devices that do not interrupt power. The 44280/44290 instructions describe LED fault indications, not the timed voltage-disconnection behavior documented for the 34930/34950.
Until Southwire resolves the exact supplied revision, treat the 44290 as a diagnostic suppressor, not an EMS replacement. The brochure lists 4,200 joules; an older manual lists 4,550, another reason to verify the unit’s documentation. The 50A counterpart covered by the 34930 voltage-protection manual is 34950, not 44290.
Full specifications
| Amperage | 50A |
|---|---|
| Voltage | 120/240V |
| Joule rating | 4,200 |
| Joule Rating Note | Brochure lists 4200; older manual lists 4550. Confirm supplied revision. |
| Full EMS protection | No |
| Automatic Voltage Shutoff | Unconfirmed — conflicting manufacturer descriptions |
| Protection Notes | Reviewed 6 November 2026. Product-page shutoff claim conflicts with manufacturer brochure and diagnostic instructions; do not rely on automatic voltage shutoff without exact-revision confirmation. |
| Fault detection | Diagnostic LEDs for wiring status; indication does not establish automatic disconnection |
| Open ground indicator | Yes |
| Replaceable surge module | No |
| Bluetooth | No |
| Display | Diagnostic indicators |
| Warranty | Not clearly published for this model — confirm before relying on it |
Specifications verified August 10, 2026 from Southwire brochure — enhanced diagnostics do not interrupt power , Southwire 44280/44290 diagnostic instructions (older revision) , Southwire product listing, model 44290 .
Strengths
- 50A surge suppression with diagnostic indicators
- Wiring-status LEDs provide a pre-connection check
Weaknesses
- Do not rely on automatic voltage shutoff: manufacturer descriptions conflict
- Brochure and older manual give different joule ratings; confirm the supplied revision
- Diagnostic indicators rather than a voltage/current display
Fit: 50A NEMA 14-50 service. Model 44390 is the closely related version with a rain-proof covered outlet.
Buy it if
You specifically need surge suppression and will check the supplied instructions and diagnostic indicators.
Choose something else if
You want documented automatic disconnection on sustained bad voltage; choose a model whose manual explicitly specifies it.
How to choose
Start with your service. Thirty amp or fifty amp, determined by your rig, not by preference. Everything else is secondary.
Then check automatic protection. Look for voltage thresholds, trip and reconnect delays, and the response to each wiring fault. The Camco 55301 has voltage shutoff; the 44290 should not be assumed to have it.
Then decide where you want to read it. On the unit at the pedestal, on your phone, on a remote display inside, or not at all. This is the axis that helps distinguish models once you have checked their protection behavior. Do not assume every product from an EMS brand has the same fault handling.
Then look at warranty, carefully. Progressive states lifetime cover plainly, with one named exclusion on the PT50X. Southwire’s 34930 includes connected equipment, which is the strongest cover here if you ever need it. Hughes and the Surge Guard 44290 both have warranty documentation we could not pin down to a single published term, which is not a reason to avoid them but is a question to ask before buying.
Then compare surge specifications, including test conditions and protected paths.
What the readouts are telling you
An EMS that refuses to pass power may be reporting a supply problem, completing a delay or reporting its own failure. Read its exact code and instructions. Possible supply faults include:
- Low voltage. Below roughly 104V, usually a busy park on a hot day, or a long undersized feed from the pedestal. Wait, or move to another post.
- Open ground. The pedestal has no ground connection. This is a shock hazard, not an inconvenience — report it and use a different post.
- Open neutral. Potentially the most damaging pedestal fault there is, and the reason full fault detection is worth paying for.
- Reverse polarity. Hot and neutral swapped at the post. Common in older parks.
- High voltage. Rarer than low, but faster to do damage.
If a unit cuts power and then takes a minute or two to restore it after the supply recovers, it may be completing its specified compressor-protection delay. A persistent refusal needs diagnosis from the displayed code. Every code these units display is listed in RV surge protector error codes. And if power stops with no error code and nothing physically tripped, work through why your RV breaker keeps tripping instead — that is a different problem.
Related guides
- Progressive vs Power Watchdog — the two leading 30 amp units head to head, with a verdict.
- Surge Guard vs Progressive — voltage thresholds, overheat detection, and what the warranties actually cover.
- Hughes Power Watchdog review — the Gen II unit in detail, and what owners report about living with it.
- Progressive EMS-PT30X review — our overall pick examined closely, including the warranty small print.
- Hardwired vs portable — form factor decided honestly, including what installation really involves.
- Do I need one at all? — check your transfer switch model before buying anything.
- 9 buying mistakes — what we found reading every manufacturer’s warranty document.
- EMS vs surge protector — the difference in full, why joule ratings mislead, and when a basic unit is genuinely enough.
- 30 amp vs 50 amp RV — the connectors, the power budgets, and what adapters actually change.
- Best RV lithium batteries — seven LiFePO4 batteries compared on charge temperature, BMS current and warranty terms, from the manufacturers’ own datasheets.
- Why does my RV breaker keep tripping? — overload against genuine fault, and when to stop and call someone.
- RV surge protector error codes — every Progressive E-code and Surge Guard message, from the manufacturers’ own charts.
- The electrical section collects everything published so far.
For how products on this site are selected and what we do not claim about them, see the editorial policy.
Questions worth answering
Do I really need an RV surge protector, or is it just insurance?
Surge suppression and automatic fault shutoff serve different purposes. Check what protection your RV already has, then compare the exact model's spike suppression, voltage shutoff, wiring-fault response and reconnect delay. Diagnostic lights do not prove that a device interrupts power.
What is the difference between a surge protector and an EMS?
A basic suppressor limits brief voltage spikes. An EMS combines suppression with supply monitoring and automatic disconnection for specified faults. The name surge protector is also used for products with voltage shutoff, including the Camco 55301; check the model's actual feature list.
Will a 50 amp surge protector work on a 30 amp hookup?
Match the protector to your RV's service. A 50A RV can use a suitable 30A pedestal adapter where the protector and RV instructions permit, but the entire rig then shares the 30A supply limit. An adapter does not add capacity or turn the hookup into 50A service.
How many joules do I actually need?
There is no universal joule target for every RV. A published surge-energy rating does not specify low-voltage shutoff, let-through voltage, all protected paths or remaining service life. Compare those features and the manufacturer's test conditions instead of ranking protection on joules alone.
Can a surge protector be stolen from the pedestal?
Yes, and it happens. Portable units sit in the open at the post. Most have a lock ring or bracket for a padlock, and hardwired units remove the problem entirely by living inside the rig.
Does a surge protector protect against low voltage?
Only if the exact model includes automatic low-voltage shutoff. Some products sold as surge protectors include it; diagnostic-only suppressors do not. Check the cutoff threshold, trip delay and reconnect rules in the model's instructions rather than relying on the name or indicator lights.







