Electrical

The Best RV Inverters for 12 Volt Systems

For most rigs the Renogy 3000W is the inverter to buy: pure sine, GFCI protected, outlets and a hardwire block on the same chassis, a published manual that answers real questions, and you can order it today without finding a dealer. If your bank is two 100Ah batteries rather than three, buy the Renogy 2000W instead and keep the difference. And if you are replacing your converter anyway — which a lithium upgrade usually forces — skip the standalone inverter entirely and put a Xantrex Freedom XC 2000 or Victron MultiPlus where the converter used to be.

The part the ranking pages skip: an inverter is a purchase your battery bank has to be able to feed. Sizing that correctly is the first section below, because getting it wrong is the most expensive mistake in this category.

Quick picks

How the seven compare

Model ContinuousSurgeWaveformIdle drawWarrantyPrice Buy
Renogy 3000W P2 3000W6000W for 1 secondPure sine wave, THD under 3%Under 30W1 year$$$ Check price(opens in a new tab)
Renogy 2000W P2 2000W4000W for 1 secondPure sine wave, THD under 3%Under 24W1 year$$$ Check price(opens in a new tab)
GIANDEL 2200W 2200W4400WPure sine wave, THD ≤3%2A at 12V (about 24W)3 years$$ Check price(opens in a new tab)
Krieger KR2000 2000W4000WModified sine wave, THD 10–45%Under 0.8A at 12V (about 10W)3 years parts and labor, administered by PowerBright Technology$$ Check price(opens in a new tab)
Go Power ISW3000 3000W6000W — duration not specified by the manufacturerPure sine wave — THD not specified for this series3.8A or less at 12V; under 0.4A in powersave mode2 years$$$$ Check price(opens in a new tab)
Xantrex Freedom XC 2000 2000W at 104°F, derating to 1500W at 140°F4000W for 5 seconds, plus 110% overload for 30 secondsTrue sine wave — THD not specifiedNot specified by the manufacturer — a load-sensing power save mode covers loads under 25W2 years US and Canada, transferable for the unexpired portion$$$$ Check price(opens in a new tab)
Victron MultiPlus 12/3000 2400W at 77°F (3000VA), 2200W at 104°F6000W peakTrue sine wave, 120V AC ±2%, 60Hz20W — 15W in AES mode, 8W in search mode5 years, honoured through the selling dealer$$$$$ Check price(opens in a new tab)
Figures as published by each manufacturer in datasheets and manuals, verified 11 August 2026. Victron rates the MultiPlus in VA — 3,000VA is 2,400W of continuous output at 77°F, which is why it is listed lower than its name suggests. Price bands are indicative.

Size the inverter from the battery, not the appliance list

Every buying guide tells you to add up your appliance wattage and buy an inverter a little bigger. That produces a number, but not the one that matters, because the inverter can only deliver what the battery bank will pass — and the bank’s limit is set by its battery management system, not its amp hours.

Most 100Ah lithium batteries carry a 100A continuous BMS. At 12.8V that is about 1,280W, and past it the battery disconnects to protect itself, no matter how much charge remains. Inverters also lose something in conversion — Renogy publishes at least 85% efficiency at full load — so a 2,000W inverter working hard draws about 2,350W from the bank, not 2,000W. That check — peak, surge and the BMS current, from your own appliance list — is what the RV battery calculator runs before it shortlists an inverter.

1 × 100Ah lithium battery 100A BMS

1,280W

The standard 100A BMS. Enough for a 1,000W inverter with margin; a 2,000W unit at full load will trip it.

2 × 100Ah in parallel 200A BMS

2,560W

The workable minimum for a 2,000W inverter run near its rating.

3 × 100Ah in parallel 300A BMS

3,840W

What a 3,000W inverter actually requires behind it.

Battle Born GC3, single battery 300A BMS

3,840W

One 270Ah case with a 300A BMS — the single-battery route to a 3,000W inverter.

1,000W inverter draws ~1,180W 2,000W inverter draws ~2,350W 3,000W inverter draws ~3,530W
Sustained output each bank configuration can supply, from the BMS continuous-discharge figures on each battery's datasheet, against what common inverter sizes draw from a 12V bank at full rated output and 85% full-load efficiency. Verified 11 August 2026.

So the honest sizing sequence runs backwards from the battery bay: count your batteries and read their BMS rating, and that tells you the largest inverter worth buying today. The full method — load worksheet, surge windows, DC-side cable and fuse arithmetic, and worked examples — is in what size inverter do I need for my RV. The battery side — which batteries carry which BMS, and what fits which tray — is covered in the best RV lithium batteries and what size lithium battery do I need. If you are still on lead-acid, the numbers get worse: an AGM bank sags under exactly the loads an inverter creates, which is one of the quieter arguments in lithium vs AGM.

Pure sine, modified sine, and what the discount actually buys

A pure sine inverter produces power like the utility grid’s; a modified sine unit produces a stepped approximation. The approximation is cheaper to make, and the difference is not subtle in the specifications: GIANDEL publishes total harmonic distortion of 3% or less for the PS-2200KAR, while Krieger publishes 10–45% for the KR2000 — an honest number very few modified sine makers print at all.

What that means in practice: resistive loads (coffee makers, toasters, anything that just gets hot) do not care. Most modern laptop and phone chargers do not care. AC motors run hotter and louder, microwaves cook noticeably slower, and some devices with sensitive supplies should not be run on modified sine at all — Krieger’s own manual carries the list.

The price gap between the two has collapsed, which changes the old advice. When a documented pure sine unit costs what the GIANDEL costs, modified sine is only worth buying when the budget is genuinely fixed and the load list is genuinely simple. That is a real situation — it is why the KR2000 is on this page — but it is narrower than it was five years ago. The full load-by-load decision, with both manufacturers’ published distortion figures drawn side by side, is in do you need a pure sine wave inverter.

The specification that drains your bank overnight

An inverter switched on but powering nothing still eats. The spread on this page is wide, and it is a figure several manufacturers would rather not discuss:

  • Krieger KR2000 — under 0.8A at 12V, about 10W. The lowest published idle figure here, from the cheapest unit.
  • Renogy — under 24W on the 2000W, under 30W on the 3000W.
  • GIANDEL — 2A at 12V, about 24W.
  • Go Power ISW3000 — 3.8A or less, but under 0.4A in powersave mode, the best sleep mode of the standalone units.
  • Victron MultiPlus — 20W, dropping to 8W in search mode.
  • Xantrex Freedom XC 2000 — not published. It has a load-sensing power save mode, but no idle wattage appears in the datasheet or owner’s guide, and it is the only unit here where that number cannot be checked.

Left on around the clock, a 25W idle is 50Ah a day from a 12V bank — half a 100Ah battery spent powering nothing. Whatever you buy, wire the remote switch where you will actually use it.

The install is a second purchase — budget it before you click anything

Big inverters move currents that need real copper and real fusing, and the manufacturers’ own documents are specific:

  • The Renogy 3000W calls for a 400A fuse and 4/0 AWG cable — and ships with no battery cables in the box. The 2000W includes a 1/0 AWG pair and wants a 250A fuse.
  • The Victron MultiPlus 12/3000 specifies a 400A fuse and two 50mm² cables per terminal — four heavy runs in total.
  • The Go Power ISW3000 is hardwire-only: no outlets, so the install is the product.

Read those figures with their run length attached, because none of them travel without it. Renogy’s 1/0 pair is three feet long, and three feet is what it is sized for — at ten feet from the bank the same inverter wants 3/0 to hold the same voltage drop. The 12V wire size calculator works it out for your own distance and flags where a published terminal limit will not take the cable the arithmetic asks for.

Cable, lugs, a Class T fuse and a holder for a 3,000W install cost real money on top of the inverter, and undersizing them is a fire risk rather than a performance loss. This is also the moment to think about the rest of the system: a large inverter/charger refilling a big bank is a serious new load on the pedestal — 30 amp vs 50 amp covers what your service can actually give, and it is the load most likely to expose a marginal shore connection — worth reading alongside whether you need a surge protector.

Inverter or inverter/charger — decide before you buy either

An inverter/charger is an inverter, a converter/charger and an automatic transfer switch in one box. On shore power it passes grid power through and charges the bank; unplug, and it switches its outputs to battery in milliseconds. Two of the seven units here are inverter/chargers, and the right question is not “which is better” but “what happens to your existing converter” — a fork worked through fully, wiring traps included, in inverter vs inverter/charger.

If your converter already charges your chemistry properly, keep it and add a plain inverter — simpler, cheaper, nothing to rewire at the panel. If the converter is on its way out anyway — and most lead-acid converters cannot finish charging a lithium bank, as covered in the best RV converter for lithium batteries — then one combined box replaces two, and the transfer switch comes free.

Match the transfer relay to your service: the Xantrex XC 2000’s 30A relay is sized exactly for a 30A rig, while the MultiPlus carries a 50A relay plus PowerAssist, which can add inverter power on top of a weak shore feed — 75A available at the panel from a 50A pedestal. Charging from the truck while towing is a separate box entirely; that is the DC-DC charger question.

The inverters in detail

Best overall

Renogy 3000W 12V Pure Sine Wave Inverter

Renogy RNG-INVT-3000-12V-P2 $$$

Check price at Renogy(opens in a new tab)

Why it's here

The specification set is what a 3,000W RV inverter should be: 6,000W surge for one second, under 30W idle, 10–16V input window with the alarm at 11V and shutdown at 10.5V, and an integrated GFCI — which matters in an RV, where the inverter’s outlets are effectively a branch circuit.

The reason it takes the top slot over the dealer-network units is friction: Renogy publishes the manual, states the fuse and cable requirements plainly, and sells the thing directly. The reason to hesitate is the warranty — one year on a unit this central to the rig is thin, and it is the one place the budget brands on this page genuinely beat it. The full treatment, including what owners report about support and longevity, is in the Renogy 3000W review.

Full specifications
Renogy 3000W 12V Pure Sine Wave Inverter specifications
Continuous Watts 3000W
Surge Watts 6000W for 1 second
Waveform Pure sine wave, THD under 3%
Output voltage 115V AC, 60Hz
No Load Draw Under 30W
Efficiency Above 90% peak, above 85% at full load
Input voltage range 10V to 16V DC
Low Voltage Alarm 11V ±0.3V
Low Voltage Shutdown 10.5V ±0.3V
Over Voltage Shutdown 16.5V ±0.3V
Outlets 3 AC outlets plus hardwire terminal block, 5V/2.1A USB
Gfci Yes
Remote Wired remote included, 16.4 ft cable
Recommended Fuse 400A
Recommended Cable 4/0 AWG — battery cables not included
Dimensions 18.9 x 9 x 4 in
Weight (lb) 12.5
Certifications UL 458 and CSA C22.2 No. 107.1-01, ETL listed
Warranty 1 year

Specifications verified August 11, 2026 from Renogy P2 inverter series user manual (Version A2, March 2026, covers 700W–3000W) , Renogy 3000W 12V product page , Renogy limited warranty document (RNG-4-243) .

Strengths

  • Pure sine with published THD under 3%, GFCI protected, UL 458 listed
  • Three outlets plus a hardwire terminal block — most units make you choose
  • Wired remote included, with a 16.4 ft cable
  • Current P2-series manual is genuinely complete: fuse size, torque specs, alarm tables
  • Sold direct from Renogy today — no dealer visit required

Weaknesses

  • One-year warranty — the shortest on this page, against three years on a budget GIANDEL
  • No battery cables in the box, and the 4/0 AWG it calls for is a real added cost
  • Needs roughly 290A of BMS behind it at full load — three parallel batteries or a GC3
  • Renogy's manual says 115V output while its product page says 120V — minor, but their documents disagree

Fit: At full load this draws roughly 290A from a 12V bank — beyond the BMS limit of any single 100A lithium battery. Plan on three 100Ah batteries in parallel, or one battery with a 300A BMS such as the Battle Born GC3, before this inverter can deliver what it is rated for.

Buy it if

You have, or are building, a bank that can feed it — and you want a documented, buyable 3,000W unit rather than a dealer-network one.

Choose something else if

Your bank is one or two 100Ah batteries. The inverter will spend its life waiting for a battery upgrade.

Best for a two-battery bank

Renogy 2000W 12V Pure Sine Wave Inverter

Renogy RNG-INVT-2000-12V-P2 $$$

Check price at Renogy(opens in a new tab)

Why it's here

Functionally the 3000W scaled down: same P2-series platform, same manual, same protections, same documentation habits. Two details make it the right size for most people rather than the compromise size. The included cables mean the out-of-box cost is the whole cost. And 2,000W is what a two-battery bank can actually sustain — the pairing the headroom chart above makes obvious.

Full specifications
Renogy 2000W 12V Pure Sine Wave Inverter specifications
Continuous Watts 2000W
Surge Watts 4000W for 1 second
Waveform Pure sine wave, THD under 3%
Output voltage 115V AC, 60Hz
No Load Draw Under 24W
Efficiency Above 90% peak, above 85% at full load
Input voltage range 10V to 16V DC
Low Voltage Alarm 11V ±0.3V
Low Voltage Shutdown 10.5V ±0.3V
Over Voltage Shutdown 16.5V ±0.3V
Outlets 3 AC outlets plus hardwire terminal block, 5V/2.1A USB
Gfci Yes
Remote Wired remote included, 16.4 ft cable
Recommended Fuse 250A
Recommended Cable 1/0 AWG 3 ft pair included
Dimensions 17.8 x 8.6 x 4 in
Weight (lb) 11.7
Certifications UL 458 and CSA C22.2 No. 107.1-01, ETL listed
Warranty 1 year

Specifications verified August 11, 2026 from Renogy P2 inverter series user manual (Version A2, March 2026, covers 700W–3000W) , Renogy 2000W 12V product page , Renogy limited warranty document (RNG-4-243) .

Strengths

  • Battery cables included — a 1/0 AWG pair the 3000W version does not come with
  • Same GFCI, outlets-plus-hardwire layout and included remote as the larger unit
  • Under 24W idle draw, published
  • Matches the real-world bank most upgrades actually install — two 100Ah batteries

Weaknesses

  • Same one-year warranty as the 3000W
  • Run near its 2,000W rating it still wants about 195A of BMS — one battery will not do it
  • Surge is 4,000W for one second — motor-start headroom, not margin for planning

Fit: At full load this draws roughly 195A from a 12V bank, so a single 100A-BMS lithium battery cannot run it near its rating — two 100Ah batteries in parallel is the workable minimum. Battery cables are included, which the 3000W version does not manage.

Buy it if

Your bank is two 100Ah lithium batteries and your biggest load is a microwave or induction plate, not an air conditioner.

Choose something else if

A 3,000W load is anywhere in your plans — buy the bank and the bigger unit once, rather than twice.

Best value pure sine

GIANDEL 2200W 12V Pure Sine Wave Power Inverter

GIANDEL PS-2200KAR $$

Why it's here

What earns the GIANDEL its place is behaviour unusual for its price bracket: it publishes the numbers. Idle draw of 2A, over-voltage trip at 16V, under-voltage alarm at 9.8V, thermal shutdown at 149°F, THD of 3% or less — stated, on the product page, where they can be held against it. Most brands at this price publish adjectives.

The caveats are structural rather than electrical, and they are in the cons above. Nothing about the unit’s published specification is the problem; the question is who answers the phone in year three, and the honest answer is an Australian company with a US number.

Full specifications
GIANDEL 2200W 12V Pure Sine Wave Power Inverter specifications
Continuous Watts 2200W
Surge Watts 4400W
Waveform Pure sine wave, THD ≤3%
No Load Draw 2A at 12V (about 24W)
Efficiency Above 90% — the product page says above 92%, the manual about 90%
Over Voltage Shutdown 16V ±0.5V
Low Voltage Alarm 9.8V ±0.5V
Low Voltage Shutdown 9.5V ±0.5V
Over Temp Shutdown 149°F ±9°F, displayed as OH
Display LED display with protection codes
Soft Start Yes
Dimensions 15.9 x 9.1 x 3.7 in
Weight (lb) 10.5
Warranty 3 years

Specifications verified August 11, 2026 from GIANDEL PS-2200KAR product page with engineering specification table , GIANDEL PS-2200KAR user manual (PDF) .

Strengths

  • Publishes a full engineering table — no-load draw, protection setpoints, THD — that budget rivals hide
  • Three-year warranty, three times Renogy's term
  • Pure sine at 3% THD or better, with soft start
  • LED display shows which protection tripped, which turns troubleshooting from guessing into reading

Weaknesses

  • Support is a US phone number routed to the Australian entity — no named US address
  • The manual lives on Amazon's content servers rather than GIANDEL's own site
  • Its 9.5V low-voltage shutdown will never fire on a lithium bank — the battery BMS disconnects first
  • Page and manual disagree on efficiency (92% vs 90%) — small, but their documents differ

Fit: The 9.5V low-voltage shutdown sits well below where a lithium BMS disconnects, so on a LiFePO4 bank the battery will always cut out first — the battery's protection, not the inverter's, is what you will actually experience.

Buy it if

You want pure sine on a budget and you would rather have a checkable specification table and a 3-year term than a famous nameplate.

Choose something else if

A named US service entity matters to you — Krieger's PowerBright arrangement or the dealer-network brands do that better.

Best budget pick — if modified sine fits your loads

Krieger KR2000 2000W 12V Power Inverter

Krieger KR2000 $$

Why it's here

Krieger’s candour is the story. THD of 10–45% is not a flattering number, and printing it — alongside a real idle-draw figure and a warranty document you can read before buying, backed by a named Florida entity with a toll-free RMA line — is more documentation than some premium brands manage. This is what an honest modified sine inverter looks like: cheap, transparent about what it is, and wrong for about half of RV load lists. Read the waveform section above before deciding which half you are in.

Full specifications
Krieger KR2000 2000W 12V Power Inverter specifications
Continuous Watts 2000W
Surge Watts 4000W
Waveform Modified sine wave, THD 10–45%
Output voltage 115V ±10%, 60Hz ±1Hz
No Load Draw Under 0.8A at 12V (about 10W)
Efficiency 90% minimum
Over Voltage Shutdown Above 15.5V
Low Voltage Alarm 10.6V
Low Voltage Shutdown Below 10.5V
Fusing 6 × 40A internal blade fuses
Certifications MET tested to UL and CSA standards
Dimensions 15.39 x 6.71 x 3.46 in
Weight (lb) 6.61
Warranty 3 years parts and labor, administered by PowerBright Technology

Specifications verified August 11, 2026 from Krieger KR1100/1500/2000 owner's manual (PDF) with full specification table and printed warranty , Krieger KR2000 product page .

Strengths

  • Under 0.8A idle — the lowest published no-load figure on this page
  • Three-year parts-and-labor warranty, administered by PowerBright in Florida with a toll-free line
  • On-domain manual with a real specification table, including the THD figure most rivals omit
  • MET tested to UL and CSA standards — actual third-party listing at a budget price

Weaknesses

  • Modified sine, 10–45% THD — motors run hot, microwaves run slow, some electronics should not run at all
  • Output regulation of ±10% is loose next to the pure sine units' ±3%
  • The waveform is the whole discount — check your load list honestly before taking it

Fit: Modified sine wave. Resistive loads and most laptop or phone chargers run fine; AC motors run hotter and louder, microwaves cook slower, and some electronics with AC-motor compressors or sensitive power supplies should not be run on it at all. That waveform is the entire reason it costs what it does.

Buy it if

Your inverter loads are chargers, a TV and things that get hot — and the price difference funds something else in the rig.

Choose something else if

A microwave, CPAP or anything with an AC motor is on the list. The GIANDEL costs modestly more and removes the entire question.

Best for a dealer-serviced hardwired install

Go Power! GP-ISW3000-12 Industrial Pure Sine Wave Inverter

Go Power! GP-ISW3000-12 $$$$

Check price at Go Power!(opens in a new tab)

Why it's here

Go Power is what RV dealers install, and this is the current 3,000W unit — worth stating plainly because the older GP-SW3000 is discontinued (its own product page says so) while still appearing in recommendation lists. The specification is workmanlike: 3,000W continuous, 6,000W surge, 90% efficiency, 10.5–16.5V window, hardwire output only. What you are buying beyond that is the Dometic dealer network, which is a real thing to buy — and the reason this unit survives on a page it otherwise would not lead.

Full specifications
Go Power! GP-ISW3000-12 Industrial Pure Sine Wave Inverter specifications
Continuous Watts 3000W
Surge Watts 6000W — duration not specified by the manufacturer
Waveform Pure sine wave — THD not specified for this series
Output voltage 100–120V AC ±3%, dip-switch selectable, 50/60Hz
No Load Draw 3.8A or less at 12V; under 0.4A in powersave mode
Efficiency 90%
Input voltage range 10.5V to 16.5V DC
Low Voltage Alarm 10.5V ±0.3V
Low Voltage Shutdown 10.5V ±0.3V
Ac Output Hardwire only — no outlets on the 3000W model
Remote Optional GP-ISW-R or GP-SWR-A remote
Dimensions 17.40 x 10.04 x 6.22 in
Weight (lb) 18.08
Certifications UL 458
Warranty 2 years

Specifications verified August 11, 2026 from Go Power GP-ISW2000/3000 spec sheet (PDF, Rev E) , Go Power GP-ISW3000 product page .

Strengths

  • The RV industry's installer brand, now under Dometic — service exists wherever RVs are serviced
  • Powersave idle under 0.4A — the best sleep mode of the standalone inverters here
  • Hardwire-only industrial build, UL 458 listed
  • Two-year warranty, double Renogy's term

Weaknesses

  • Dealer network only — no direct purchase, and its own web store does not list it
  • Surge duration and THD are not published for this series
  • Its discontinued predecessor, the GP-SW3000, is still recommended around the web — confirm you are quoted the ISW
  • Go Power's own spec sheet disagrees with its dimension drawing on height — measure before committing a bay

Fit: Hardwire output only, so this is a dealer- or competent-DIY-install product, not a plug-in one. At full load it draws roughly 275A from a 12V bank. Go Power's transfer switches are sold separately; pairing guidance for this series is not stated on its spec sheet.

Buy it if

You want the inverter your service department already knows, wired in properly, and the dealer relationship is worth more to you than the lowest price.

Choose something else if

You are ordering online and installing yourself — the Renogy does that job with less friction.

Best inverter/charger for 30A rigs

Xantrex Freedom XC 2000 True Sine Wave Inverter/Charger

Xantrex 817-2080 $$$$

Check price at Xantrex(opens in a new tab)

Why it's here

This is the box a 30A lithium upgrade wants: the failing lead-acid converter comes out, the XC 2000 goes in, and the rig gains a true sine inverter, an 80A charger that actually finishes charging LiFePO4, and automatic switchover. The charger being selectable down to 5A matters too — it lets you charge a big bank from a small pedestal without tripping it.

The missing idle-draw figure is the real annoyance, flagged in the cons because on a boondocking rig that number decides whether the unit stays on overnight. Everything else Xantrex documents unusually well, including the things that make it look worse — the temperature derating curve is printed, not hidden.

Full specifications
Xantrex Freedom XC 2000 True Sine Wave Inverter/Charger specifications
Continuous Watts 2000W at 104°F, derating to 1500W at 140°F
Surge Watts 4000W for 5 seconds, plus 110% overload for 30 seconds
Waveform True sine wave — THD not specified
Output voltage 120V AC, configurable to 110/108V, 60Hz
No Load Draw Not specified by the manufacturer — a load-sensing power save mode covers loads under 25W
Efficiency 91% peak, at least 87.5% at full load
Dc Input 12V nominal; full-load draw 192A, up to 400A starting heavy loads
Low Voltage Shutdown Selectable 10.1V to 12.8V, default 10.5V; instant shutdown below 9V
Charger Output Selectable 5–80A, three-stage, temperature compensated
Dedicated lithium profile Built-in LFP setting — absorption 14.4V, float 13.6V; custom profile for other chemistries
Transfer Relay 30A (24A continuous), transfer under 20ms, 10ms in UPS mode
Dead Battery Charging Charges from 0.0V
Dimensions 15.4 x 10.8 x 4.0 in without mounting flanges
Weight (lb) 16.3
Certifications ETL listed to CSA C22.2 No. 107.1 and UL 458 with marine supplement, ABYC E-11
Warranty 2 years US and Canada, transferable for the unexpired portion

Specifications verified August 11, 2026 from Xantrex Freedom XC datasheet (PDF) , Xantrex Freedom XC owner's guide (PDF, Rev E, January 2025) , Xantrex Freedom XC warranty terms (PDF) .

Strengths

  • A 30A transfer relay sized exactly to 30A shore service, switching in under 20ms
  • Selectable 5–80A charger with a built-in LFP profile — 14.4V absorption, 13.6V float
  • Surge is 4,000W for five whole seconds, the most generous stated window here
  • Two-year warranty that transfers with the RV — unique on this page
  • Xantrex publishes its derating honestly: 2,000W at 104°F, 1,500W at 140°F

Weaknesses

  • Idle draw is not published — the only unit here where that figure cannot be checked
  • Dealer network purchase, like the Victron
  • THD is not stated in any of its documents
  • At full inverter load it pulls 192A — still a two-battery bank minimum

Fit: The 30A transfer relay matches 30A shore service exactly, which is what makes this the inverter/charger for 30A rigs — a 50A coach wants the bigger relay in the Victron MultiPlus. Replaces the converter rather than adding to it. A GFCI-outlet variant exists as 817-2080-11.

Buy it if

You run a 30A rig, your converter needs replacing for lithium anyway, and one 16 lb box doing three jobs appeals.

Choose something else if

You have 50A service — the transfer relay is the wrong size for your rig, and the MultiPlus exists.

Best for a full system rebuild

Victron Energy MultiPlus 12/3000/120-50 120V Inverter/Charger

Victron Energy MultiPlus 12/3000/120-50 120V $$$$$

Check price at Victron Energy(opens in a new tab)

Why it's here

The MultiPlus is bought as a system centre, not an inverter, and judged that way it has no rival on this page. PowerAssist alone changes how a 50A coach camps: on a weak pedestal the Multi supplements shore power from the bank instead of tripping the breaker, then recharges when the load drops.

Be clear-eyed about two things. Continuous output is 2,400W at 77°F — the model name’s 3,000 is volt-amperes, and the comparison table above uses the watts. And Victron’s warranty formally runs to its dealers, who pass it to you; five years is the longest term here, but it is honoured through wherever you bought the unit. Buy it from a dealer you expect to still exist.

Full specifications
Victron Energy MultiPlus 12/3000/120-50 120V Inverter/Charger specifications
Continuous Watts 2400W at 77°F (3000VA), 2200W at 104°F
Surge Watts 6000W peak
Waveform True sine wave, 120V AC ±2%, 60Hz
No Load Draw 20W — 15W in AES mode, 8W in search mode
Efficiency 93% maximum
Input voltage range 9.5V to 17V DC
Charger Output 120A house battery plus 4A starter-battery trickle
Charge Voltages Absorption 14.4V, float 13.8V, storage 13.2V
Transfer Switch 50A, with a second 25A output live only on shore power
Power Assist Adds up to 25A of inverter output on top of a 50A shore feed during peaks — 75A total available at the panel
Recommended Fuse 400A
Recommended Cable 2 × 50mm² per terminal up to 16 ft — two positive and two negative runs
Recommended Battery Bank 400–1200Ah
Dimensions 14.3 x 10.2 x 8.6 in
Weight (lb) 40
Certifications UL 1741 and UL 458
Warranty 5 years, honoured through the selling dealer

Specifications verified August 11, 2026 from Victron MultiPlus 2kVA/3kVA 120V datasheet (PDF) , Victron MultiPlus 3kVA 120V manual (PDF) — fuse, cable and PowerAssist figures , Victron limited warranty policy (PDF) .

Strengths

  • 120A charger — refills a 400Ah bank in an afternoon, not a weekend
  • PowerAssist stacks inverter output on top of shore power: 75A at the panel from a 50A pedestal
  • 93% peak efficiency and an 8W search mode
  • Five-year warranty, the longest here
  • The ecosystem: it integrates with Victron shunts, solar and monitoring as one system

Weaknesses

  • It is a 2,400W inverter — Victron's 3,000 figure is VA, and the name flatters it
  • Dealer purchase, and the warranty is honoured through the selling dealer — where you buy it matters
  • Four heavy cables (two per terminal), a 400A fuse and 40 lb of aluminum — this is an installation project
  • Victron recommends a 400–1200Ah bank behind it, which prices the true cost of ownership

Fit: An inverter, a 120A converter/charger and a 50A transfer switch in one box — it replaces the factory converter rather than sitting alongside it. At 2,400W continuous output it draws roughly 215A from a 12V bank, so plan on at least 200A of BMS headroom; Victron's own recommendation is a 400–1200Ah bank.

Buy it if

You are rebuilding the electrical system around a large bank and want the inverter, charger and transfer switch to be one engineered system with monitoring.

Choose something else if

You want a straightforward inverter added to a working rig — most of what you are paying for here would go unused.

How to choose

Start in the battery bay. Count batteries, read the BMS rating, and let the headroom chart above set your ceiling. Buying the inverter before the bank is buying in the wrong order — the battery roundup is the other half of this decision.

Then decide plain inverter or inverter/charger. The question is what happens to your converter. Replacing it anyway? Combine. Keeping it? Don’t pay for a second charger you will never wire in.

Then match the waveform to the load list, honestly. Pure sine removes the question; modified sine answers it only for resistive loads and modern chargers.

Then budget the install. Fuse, cable, lugs and a switch position for the remote. On a 3,000W unit this is a meaningful fraction of the inverter’s own price, and no unit on this page except the Renogy 2000W includes the cables.

Then read the warranty as a term sheet. One year (Renogy), two (Go Power, Xantrex — transferable), three (GIANDEL, Krieger), five via dealer (Victron). The order is not the price order, which is worth sitting with — the two brands at the extremes are set against each other properly in Victron vs Renogy.

What we left out, and why

The Xantrex Freedom 458, which currently ranks in recommendation lists for this query, is a filtered modified sine design Xantrex itself describes as having been installed in RVs for almost two decades. It is still sold and still supported, but Xantrex’s own true sine Freedom XC line does the same jobs with modern charging profiles — recommending the 458 for a new purchase in 2026 mostly signals that a page has not read the manufacturer’s catalogue lately.

The Go Power GP-SW3000 is discontinued — its product page says so plainly — and is likewise still recommended around the web. The current unit is the ISW3000 reviewed above.

Victron’s VE.Direct 1200 (the former Phoenix 12/1200) was cut on a technicality we could not get past: the current 120V datasheet and manual nowhere state the output waveform, and we do not publish a “pure sine” claim we cannot source — even about a brand whose engineering we recommend elsewhere on this page.

The marketplace brands — the TOPBULL, YSOLX, BELTTT and JARXIOKE units that fill competing roundups — fail the same checks the no-name batteries failed: no manual you can read before buying, no warranty document, no serviceable entity behind the listing. Two borderline cases are worth naming. BESTEK’s web presence is decaying — expired security certificates on every domain we tried, and a warranty term that contradicts itself between its own pages. Ampeak has a real site and a manuals library, but its warranty page names no term at all and its support is an email address. GIANDEL and Krieger are on this page because they publish what these brands do not; that is the entire difference.

For how products on this site are selected and what we do not claim about them, see the editorial policy.

Questions worth answering

What size inverter do I need for my RV?

Add up the wattage of what will run at the same time, then check what your battery bank can supply — the second number is usually the one that decides. A single 100Ah lithium battery with a 100A BMS can sustain about 1,280W, whatever the inverter is rated for. A 2,000W inverter wants two of those batteries in parallel; a 3,000W unit wants three, or one battery with a 300A BMS.

Will a 2000W inverter run a microwave?

Usually, with two caveats. A microwave with 1,000W of cooking power draws roughly 1,500W from the outlet, which a 2,000W pure sine inverter covers — if the battery bank behind it can pass about 195A without the BMS disconnecting. On a modified sine inverter the same microwave runs, but manufacturers of both products acknowledge it heats more slowly and runs hotter.

Can an inverter run my RV air conditioner?

A 3,000W inverter with a soft starter can start and run most 13,500 BTU units, but the battery arithmetic is severe — air conditioning consumes a large bank in a few hours. Most owners size the inverter for everything except the air conditioner and run it from shore power or a generator instead. If air conditioning on batteries is the goal, size the bank first and treat the inverter as the cheap part.

Why does my inverter keep beeping or shutting off?

The most common cause is the low-voltage alarm — most units here alarm near 10.5V input, which under heavy load can happen while the battery still shows charge, because voltage sags with current. On a lithium bank the battery's own BMS often disconnects before the inverter's threshold is reached, so the inverter goes dark without ever alarming. Overload and over-temperature shutdowns are next; both are listed with codes in each manufacturer's manual.

Do I need an inverter/charger, or just an inverter?

If your existing converter already charges your batteries properly, a plain inverter added alongside it is the simpler and cheaper install. If you are replacing the converter anyway — which most lithium upgrades force — an inverter/charger does both jobs in one box with one set of battery cables, and adds an automatic transfer switch you would otherwise buy separately.