Buy the Victron SmartShunt. It publishes accuracy figures nobody else in the category matches, works with any chemistry, and costs the least of the properly documented options because your phone is the display. If you want a gauge on a wall, the BMV-712 is the same instrument with a screen.
There is one case where that answer changes, and it is not the one the category talks about. A coulomb counter measures against the capacity you typed in at installation, and it needs to reach a full charge periodically to stay accurate. An RV that lives on solar and rarely tops right up gets steadily wronger. If that is you, the Balmar SG200 is built for it.
Best overall
- Bluetooth
- Yes
Victron SmartShunt 500A
Published ±0.4% accuracy, a documented offset table, and the least money of any monitor here that tells you what it does.
Best with a panel gauge
- Bluetooth
- Yes
Victron BMV-712 Smart
Identical measurement engine, plus a display anyone can read and a relay that can act on a threshold.
Best if you rarely reach 100%
- Bluetooth
- Via a separate SmartLink gateway, not built into the display
Balmar SG200
Tracks the bank's declining capacity, which is the one failure mode coulomb counters have and never advertise.
Cheapest way to stop guessing
- Bluetooth
- Not published for this model
Renogy 500A Monitor
Shunt-based with a 20 ft cable, at the cost of documentation — several key figures are simply not published.
What counts as a battery monitor
This sounds like a definition to skip. It is not, because the category is full of products that do not qualify, and at least one of them is a top pick on a rival list.
A battery monitor counts amps. It has a shunt — a precision resistor in the battery negative — and every amp entering or leaving the bank passes through it. The monitor measures the tiny voltage across that shunt, works out the current, and adds it up over time. That arithmetic is what produces a state of charge you can plan around.
A voltmeter reads terminal voltage and infers. That works passably on a rested lead-acid battery and barely at all on lithium, where the pack sits at nearly the same voltage from full to almost empty. Plug-in voltmeters are useful things — they will tell you whether your alternator is charging — but they are not battery monitors, and the reason is worth understanding.
The distinction matters here because a currently ranking “10 Best RV Battery Monitor” list opens with the Innova 3721, described as “the easy plug-in choice for 12V rigs”. The Innova 3721 is a cigarette-lighter voltmeter with a bar graph. It is a perfectly good product for what it is. It counts no amps, it has no shunt, and it cannot tell you how much is left in a house bank.
How the four compare
| Model | Shunt | Current accuracy | Display | Tracks state of health | Warranty | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Victron SmartShunt 500A | 500A / 50mV | ±0.4% | None — the phone is the display. This is the whole design difference from the BMV-712 | No — it counts coulombs against the capacity you enter, and does not track that capacity declining as the bank ages | 5 years — stated in Victron's site footer as a standard term, not on the product datasheet | $$ | Check price(opens in a new tab) |
| Victron BMV-712 Smart | 500A / 50mV, supplied | ±0.4% | Head unit with backlit display, 2.5 in round, panel-mounted — the design difference from the SmartShunt | No — same measurement engine as the SmartShunt, so the same limitation | 5 years — stated in Victron's site footer as a standard term, not on the product datasheet | $$$ | Check price(opens in a new tab) |
| Balmar SG200 | Balmar SmartShunt — 350A continuous, 600A for 10 minutes. Millivolt rating not published; it is a proprietary sensor rather than a standard-rating shunt, so it is not interchangeable with a 50mV part | Not published | Colour display, 2.0625 in (53 mm) mounting hole, IP65 from the front only | Yes — the feature the product is built around. Compares the bank's actual capacity against the manufacturer's design capacity, and self-learns over several charge cycles until the figure stabilises | Stated in the manual's Balmar Warranty section — term not published on the product page | $$$$ | Check price(opens in a new tab) |
| Renogy 500A Monitor | 500A — millivolt rating not published | Not stated separately. Renogy publishes one "1% Accuracy Measurement" figure without saying whether it refers to current or voltage | Head unit, wired — voltage, current, consumed power, capacity and a battery degradation figure | No. The display shows a "battery degradation rate", but Renogy publishes nothing on how it is derived | 2 years, prorated, material and workmanship | $$ | Check price(opens in a new tab) |
Two things stand out from that table, and both are about documentation rather than performance. Victron publishes an accuracy figure and everyone else does not. Renogy states a single “1% Accuracy Measurement” without saying whether it refers to current or voltage; Balmar publishes none; Bogart none. And only one of the four tracks state of health, which is the subject of the next section.
The trade-off nobody mentions
Every shunt-based monitor has the same weakness, and it is structural rather than a defect: counting accumulates error, and the only reliable correction is reaching 100% charge. When the bank hits full, the monitor knows where it is and resets the count. Between full charges, small measurement errors add up in one direction.
That is fine on shore power, where you top up completely every night. It is not fine boondocking on solar in November, where the bank may cycle between 40% and 85% for weeks and never touch full.
Balmar says this about its competitors, in its own manual, and it is worth quoting because a manufacturer naming a category-wide weakness is unusual:
The SG200 also is unaffected by other issues inherent in all other shunt-based systems, like accuracy drift over multiple partial state of charge cycles… traditional shunt-based products need to reach 100% charge each cycle. Inaccuracy is introduced that is multiplied with each additional cycle that does not reach full 100% charge.
The second half of the problem is capacity. A coulomb counter measures against the amp-hour figure you entered when you installed it. A four-year-old bank no longer holds that, so “50%” is 50% of a number that stopped being true. The SG200’s answer is state of health — it learns the bank’s actual capacity over several charge cycles and expresses state of charge as a percentage of that instead.
It is not free. Balmar’s own documentation is clear that the feature depends on two settings being right: charge voltage and taper current, which it uses to detect when a charge has terminated. Set them wrong and the state of health never updates properly. And the SG200’s shunt is proprietary — it is not a 50mV part you can swap.
The monitors in detail
Best overall
Victron Energy SmartShunt 500A/50mV Battery Monitor
- Bluetooth
- Yes
Why it's here
Full specifications
| Shunt | 500A / 50mV |
|---|---|
| Other shunt sizes | Also sold as 300A, 1000A and 2000A, all 50mV, in IP21 and IP65 housings |
| Display | None — the phone is the display. This is the whole design difference from the BMV-712 |
| Bluetooth | Yes |
| Communication | VE.Direct port, plus Bluetooth to the VictronConnect app |
| Supply voltage | 6.5V to 70V DC |
| Current draw | Under 1mA |
| Auxiliary input range | 6.5V to 70V DC |
| Battery capacity range | 1 to 9,999Ah |
| State Of Health | No — it counts coulombs against the capacity you enter, and does not track that capacity declining as the bank ages |
| Current accuracy | ±0.4% |
| Voltage accuracy | ±0.3% |
| Current resolution | ±0.01A |
| Voltage resolution | ±0.01V |
| State of charge resolution | ±0.1% |
| Amp hour resolution | ±0.1Ah |
| Time-to-go resolution | ±1 minute |
| Zero offset | Less than 10mA on the 300A and 500A, 20mA on the 1000A, 40mA on the 2000A |
| Auxiliary input | One input, used for a second battery's voltage, midpoint deviation, or a temperature sensor — one of the three, not all |
| Temperature measurement range | -4°F to 122°F, with the optional sensor |
| Operating temperature | -40°F to 122°F |
| Programmable alarm | None — Victron's datasheet lists "no programmable visual and audible alarm" as a difference from the BMV-712 |
| Programmable relay | None — the datasheet's second listed difference from the BMV-712 |
| Dimensions | 1.8 x 4.7 x 2.1 in (46 x 120 x 54 mm) for the 500A |
| Warranty | 5 years — stated in Victron's site footer as a standard term, not on the product datasheet |
Specifications verified August 23, 2026 from Victron SmartShunt datasheet (PDF) — accuracy, resolution, supply range, offset, dimensions, and the two listed differences from the BMV-712 , Victron SmartShunt product page — shunt ratings, housings, 99.6% accuracy claim .
Strengths
- Publishes ±0.4% current accuracy and ±0.3% voltage accuracy — the only monitor here with figures you can check
- Publishes a zero-offset table too: under 10mA at 300A and 500A, 20mA at 1000A, 40mA at 2000A
- Sold in 300A, 500A, 1000A and 2000A, all 50mV, so a replacement shunt is a stocked part
- Nothing to mount in a wall — it lives in the battery bay and the phone is the display
- Five-year warranty, and VE.Direct for a GX device later
Weaknesses
- No local readout at all: with a flat phone and no GX device it is measuring correctly and telling nobody
- No programmable alarm and no relay — Victron's own datasheet lists both as the differences from the BMV-712
- One auxiliary input, so second-battery voltage, midpoint monitoring and temperature are mutually exclusive
- Counts against the capacity you enter and never revises it, so it drifts as the bank ages
Fit: Installs in the battery negative, so every amp entering or leaving the bank passes through it — which is what lets it count coulombs rather than infer state of charge from voltage. Works with any chemistry. The auxiliary input is a single input: monitoring a starter battery, midpoint deviation and temperature are mutually exclusive without a second device.
Buy it if
You want the most accurate figure for the least money, you carry a phone, and you charge fully often enough that drift never shows.
Choose something else if
Something needs switching automatically, or the number has to be readable without an app.
Best with a panel gauge
Victron Energy BMV-712 Smart Battery Monitor with 500A Shunt
- Bluetooth
- Yes
Why it's here
Full specifications
| Shunt | 500A / 50mV, supplied |
|---|---|
| Display | Head unit with backlit display, 2.5 in round, panel-mounted — the design difference from the SmartShunt |
| Bluetooth | Yes |
| Communication | VE.Direct port, plus Bluetooth to the VictronConnect app |
| Supply voltage | 6.5V to 70V DC |
| Current draw | Under 1mA with the backlight off |
| Battery capacity range | 1 to 9,999Ah |
| State Of Health | No — same measurement engine as the SmartShunt, so the same limitation |
| Current accuracy | ±0.4% |
| Voltage accuracy | ±0.3% |
| Current resolution | ±0.01A with the 500A shunt |
| Voltage resolution | ±0.01V |
| State of charge resolution | ±0.1% |
| Amp hour resolution | ±0.1Ah |
| Time-to-go resolution | ±1 minute |
| Temperature resolution | ±1°F, over 30°F to 120°F |
| Auxiliary input | One input, used for a second battery's voltage, midpoint deviation, or a temperature sensor |
| Programmable alarm | Yes, visual and audible — one of the two features the SmartShunt does not have, per Victron's own datasheet |
| Programmable relay | Yes — 1A normally open, and the function can be inverted. The second feature the SmartShunt lacks |
| Operating temperature | -40°F to 122°F |
| Warranty | 5 years — stated in Victron's site footer as a standard term, not on the product datasheet |
Specifications verified August 23, 2026 from Victron BMV-712 Smart datasheet (PDF) — accuracy, resolution, supply range, relay rating, shunt supplied , BMV and SmartShunt combined manual, Rev 17, 07/2025 , Victron BMV-712 Smart product page .
Strengths
- Identical measurement engine to the SmartShunt — same 500A/50mV shunt, same ±0.4% accuracy, same resolution to the digit
- A 1A programmable relay that acts on a threshold: shed a load, drive a warning lamp, signal a generator autostart
- Programmable visual and audible alarm at the head unit
- Anyone in the rig can read it without pairing an app
Weaknesses
- Costs more than the SmartShunt for measurement that is identical rather than better
- Needs a hole cut for the head unit and a cable run to it
- Supplied with a 500A shunt only — above that the SmartShunt is the one with a catalogue entry
- No state of health tracking, so the same ageing-capacity problem applies
Fit: Same 500A/50mV shunt and the same measurement engine as the SmartShunt — the published accuracy and resolution figures are identical to the digit. What the extra money buys is the panel display, a programmable visual and audible alarm, and a 1A relay that can drive something when a threshold is crossed. If the phone is an acceptable display and nothing needs switching, the SmartShunt is the same instrument for less.
Buy it if
You need the relay, or the reading has to be visible to everyone without a phone.
Choose something else if
You are happy using the app and nothing in the rig needs switching on a threshold.
Best if you rarely reach a full charge
Balmar SG200 Battery Monitor Kit with SmartShunt and Colour Display
- Bluetooth
- Via a separate SmartLink gateway, not built into the display
Why it's here
Full specifications
| Shunt | Balmar SmartShunt — 350A continuous, 600A for 10 minutes. Millivolt rating not published; it is a proprietary sensor rather than a standard-rating shunt, so it is not interchangeable with a 50mV part |
|---|---|
| Display | Colour display, 2.0625 in (53 mm) mounting hole, IP65 from the front only |
| Bluetooth | Via a separate SmartLink gateway, not built into the display |
| Communication | SmartLink cable, 10 m supplied; displays and shunts daisy-chain |
| System voltage | Scales automatically to 12V, 24V, 36V and 48V systems |
| Reports | Voltage, state of charge %, state of health %, current, time remaining, and the voltage of two auxiliary batteries |
| State Of Health | Yes — the feature the product is built around. Compares the bank's actual capacity against the manufacturer's design capacity, and self-learns over several charge cycles until the figure stabilises |
| Drift Behaviour | Balmar's manual states the SG200 is "unaffected by other issues inherent in all other shunt-based systems, like accuracy drift over multiple partial state of charge cycles", and that traditional shunt-based products "need to reach 100% charge each cycle" |
| Configuration Required | Battery chemistry and design capacity must be set. Charge voltage and taper current are used to detect charge termination, and Balmar warns that if they are set wrong the state of health may never update correctly |
| Battery types | Lead acid, LiFePO4, standard AGM, TPPL AGM, carbon foam AGM and gel |
| Auxiliary input | Two auxiliary leads for starting batteries — voltage only. Balmar notes that monitoring a starting bank through the shunt posts instead may prevent an accurate state of health being determined |
| Weather rating | The SmartShunt is not waterproof and must be mounted flat, in a dry location, on a non-conductive surface |
| Install Note | Every load and source must land its negative at or before the cable end of the shunt — a bus bar immediately before it is the usual arrangement |
| Current accuracy | Not published |
| Warranty | Stated in the manual's Balmar Warranty section — term not published on the product page |
Specifications verified August 23, 2026 from Balmar SG200 Installation & Operation Manual (PDF) — state of health definition, partial-cycle drift claim, voltage scaling, reported parameters, auxiliary lead limits, mounting and install requirements , Balmar SG200 product page — kit contents, 10 m SmartLink cable , Balmar SG200 FAQ — state of health learning behaviour, charge termination settings .
Strengths
- The only monitor here that tracks state of health — present capacity against capacity when new
- Balmar states it is unaffected by the partial-cycle drift that affects counting monitors, and names the problem explicitly in its manual
- Scales automatically across 12V, 24V, 36V and 48V systems
- Color display, 10 m cable supplied, and displays and shunts daisy-chain for larger systems
- Two auxiliary leads for starter battery voltage
Weaknesses
- Several times the price of the SmartShunt
- Proprietary shunt rather than a standard 50mV part, so it is not interchangeable and neither half can be replaced independently
- Publishes no current accuracy figure, which is awkward for a product sold on accuracy
- State of health only works if charge voltage and taper current are set correctly — Balmar's own manual warns it may otherwise never update
- The shunt is not waterproof and must be mounted flat in a dry location; Bluetooth needs a separate gateway
Fit: A different approach from the coulomb counters, and the reason to consider it is the drift argument rather than the feature list. A monitor that counts amps has to see a full 100% charge periodically to resynchronise; an RV that boondocks and tops up on solar may go weeks without one, and the error compounds. The SG200 tracks capacity itself instead. The trade is that its shunt is proprietary and its headline figure depends on two parameters the installer has to set correctly.
Buy it if
You spend long stretches off-grid where the bank seldom reaches 100%, or it is old enough that its nameplate capacity is fiction.
Choose something else if
You charge fully most weeks — the drift never becomes visible, and you would be paying four times over for a problem you do not have.
Cheapest way to stop guessing
Renogy 500A Battery Monitor with Shunt
- Bluetooth
- Not published for this model
Why it's here
Full specifications
| Shunt | 500A — millivolt rating not published |
|---|---|
| On the shunt rating | Checked across Renogy's US product page, its FAQ page and the EU product page in August 2026; none states whether the shunt is 50mV, 75mV or 100mV. That matters more here than on most specs — it is the figure that decides whether a replacement shunt or a third-party monitor can be paired with it |
| Display | Head unit, wired — voltage, current, consumed power, capacity and a battery degradation figure |
| Bluetooth | Not published for this model |
| Accuracy | "1% Accuracy Measurement" — Renogy does not say whether this is the current or the voltage figure, and publishes no separate accuracy for the other |
| State Of Health | No. The display shows a "battery degradation rate", but Renogy publishes nothing on how it is derived |
| Current accuracy | Not stated separately. Renogy publishes one "1% Accuracy Measurement" figure without saying whether it refers to current or voltage |
| Operating voltage range | 10V to 120V DC |
| Maximum current | 500A |
| Battery types | Lead acid (AGM, gel), LiFePO4, lithium-ion, nickel-metal hydride |
| Cable length | 20 ft shielded cable to the shunt, 3 ft B+ lead |
| Operating temperature | 14°F to 140°F (-10°C to 60°C) |
| Battery capacity range | Not published |
| Current draw | Not published |
| Warranty | 2 years, prorated, material and workmanship |
Specifications verified August 23, 2026 from Renogy 500A Battery Monitor product page (US) — accuracy claim, cable length, battery types , Renogy 500A Battery Monitor product page (EU) — 1% accuracy wording, display parameters , Renogy RBM500 manual (PDF) — listed on Renogy's manual index; the file returned HTTP 500 on 23 Aug 2026 and has not been read .
Strengths
- Genuinely shunt-based at the lowest price here — it counts amps rather than reading voltage
- 20 ft shielded cable to the shunt, far longer than Victron supplies, which suits a rig with the bank and the panel far apart
- Works across lead acid, AGM, gel, LiFePO4, lithium-ion and NiMH
- Two-year warranty
Weaknesses
- Does not publish the shunt millivolt rating anywhere we could find — US product page, FAQ and EU page all checked — so neither half can be paired or replaced with confidence
- One ambiguous "1% Accuracy Measurement" with no statement of whether it describes current or voltage
- No Bluetooth published for this model, in a category where it is now standard
- Battery capacity range and self-consumption unpublished, and Renogy's own manual PDF returns a server error
Fit: The budget shunt-based option, and the documentation is correspondingly thin. The 20 ft shielded cable is genuinely useful in a rig where the battery bay and the panel are far apart — Victron supplies a much shorter lead. Buy it as a sealed pairing of monitor and shunt rather than as parts: without a published millivolt rating you cannot confidently swap either half.
Buy it if
You want to stop guessing and the budget matters more to you than the documentation does.
Choose something else if
You may want to swap the shunt or the head unit later, or you want an accuracy figure you can actually check.
What we checked, and what we did not
Every figure on this page came from a manufacturer’s own datasheet or manual. Where a maker publishes nothing, the tables say so rather than filling the gap from a retailer listing — three of the four leave real holes, and the pattern of which holes is more useful than a fabricated number would be.
We have not tested any of these. That should be said plainly on this SERP
in particular, because several of the pages competing for it say the opposite.
Three separate domains ranking for best rv battery monitor carry near
identical titles in the form “Best Rv Battery Monitor [Updated On: August
2026]”, and two of them open with a first-person testing claim — “after
hands-on testing”, “after thorough testing” — before recommending products
including a no-name marketplace shunt. A fourth site says “we tested 10 top
models for accuracy”. Testing ten battery monitors for accuracy requires a
reference instrument and a controlled load; it is not something a content
template does.
The one page on this SERP that handles it honestly is TheRVgeeks, which ranks first and says openly that it starts with Xantrex “since we have a Xantrex system… we like having the personal experience to back up items we highlight whenever possible”. That is a fair disclosure. It also means the two products at the top of the best-known list in this category are there because the authors happen to own them — and that page does not mention drift, resynchronisation or state of health at all.
Also considered
Bogart Engineering TriMetric TM-2030 — the long-standing US-made option, and the clearest documentation in the category on what a shunt rating actually means. It ships with no shunt and asks you to choose an SH-500-50 or an SH-100-100, which differ on both amps and millivolts. It is not a pick here for two reasons: no Bluetooth or app in a category where that is now standard, and we could not read its documentation at source — bogartengineering.com refuses our requests, so its specifications come from distributor listings rather than from Bogart. We would rather say that than present it as verified.
Xantrex LinkLITE and LinkPRO — recommended by the top-ranking page. Real shunt-based monitors, and long-established, but there is no app and the line is old enough that we would want to confirm current availability before recommending it.
Battery-integrated Bluetooth — worth checking before buying anything, since some batteries now include a shunt and genuinely replace a monitor while most do not. That is its own question.
Plug-in voltmeters — the Innova 3721 and its relatives. Useful, cheap, not battery monitors.
Related guides
- What size shunt do you need? — the two ratings, and the millivolt one that silently breaks systems.
- Victron SmartShunt vs BMV-712 — the two picks above, and why the relay decides between them.
- Do you need a shunt if your battery has Bluetooth? — whether you need any of this.
- RV battery state of charge calculator — what a voltage reading is actually worth, which is the case for buying one.
- RV battery calculator — sizing the bank these will be measuring.
- The electrical section collects everything published so far.
For how products on this site are selected and what we do not claim about them, see the editorial policy.
Questions worth answering
What is the best RV battery monitor?
The Victron SmartShunt for most rigs. It publishes ±0.4% current accuracy and a zero-offset table nobody else in the category matches, it works with any chemistry, and it is the cheapest of the properly documented options because you use your phone as the display. If you would rather have a gauge on the wall, the BMV-712 is the same instrument with a screen, an alarm and a relay.
Is a battery monitor the same as a voltmeter?
No, and the difference is the whole category. A voltmeter reads terminal voltage; a battery monitor counts amps in and out through a shunt in the battery negative and calculates what is left. On lithium that distinction decides whether the number means anything at all, because a LiFePO4 pack holds nearly the same voltage from full to almost empty. Some products sold as "battery monitors" are plug-in voltmeters.
Do I need a shunt-based monitor if my battery has Bluetooth?
Usually, and it depends on what your battery actually measures. Victron's Lithium Smart battery reports cell voltages and temperature over Bluetooth and no state of charge at all; its newer Lithium NG has a shunt inside and genuinely replaces a monitor. And a battery's BMS only ever measures that battery, so a bank of four gives you four readings and no total.
What does state of health mean on a battery monitor?
It is the bank's present capacity compared with its capacity when new. It matters because every coulomb counter measures against a capacity figure you typed in at installation, and that figure stops being true as the bank ages. Of the monitors here only the Balmar SG200 tracks it, and Balmar's manual explains it learns the value over several charge cycles.
Why do battery monitors become inaccurate over time?
Because counting amps accumulates error, and the usual correction is reaching a full charge — which resynchronises the count to 100%. Balmar states the problem plainly in its own manual: traditional shunt-based products "need to reach 100% charge each cycle", and inaccuracy is "multiplied with each additional cycle that does not reach full 100% charge". An RV living on solar may go weeks without a full recharge.
What size shunt do I need?
500A for almost any rig with an inverter and 300A for one without, and there is a second rating that matters more than people expect — the millivolt figure, which has to match what the monitor expects. All the Victron units are 50mV; Bogart sells its TriMetric with a choice of 500A/50mV or 100A/100mV, which are different on both axes.
Can I use a car battery monitor in an RV?
The plug-in kind, no — those are voltmeters in a cigarette-lighter plug, and they tell you roughly what a multimeter would. They are genuinely useful for checking an alternator is charging while you drive. They cannot tell you how much is left in a house bank, and on lithium they cannot tell you much at all.
Does a battery monitor work with lead-acid and lithium?
All four here do, and it is one of the arguments for a separate monitor over a battery's own app: a shunt measures current at the negative, so it does not care what chemistry is behind it. It works across a mixed bank and keeps working when you change batteries.
Where does the shunt go?
In the battery negative, and it must be the only path. Every negative connection in the rig — chassis grounds, converter, solar, inverter — lands on the load side of the shunt rather than on the battery post. Anything that bypasses it is current the monitor never sees, which produces slow one-directional drift that looks like a failing battery.