Buy the Clearsource Premier if you camp enough for water to be infrastructure — full-time, or most weekends. It is the documented product: the only published 0.2 micron absolute rating in the category, a stated flow rate and gallon capacity, and standard-size cartridges that keep the running costs commodity-priced. You are paying several hundred dollars more for filtration you can actually verify the shape of.
Buy the Beech Lane dual system if you are setting up a first rig or camping a handful of weekends a season. Its 5-micron-then-0.5-micron staged layout is the correct architecture at a fraction of the price, and it carries the category’s longest warranty — with a condition worth reading first.
What makes this pairing interesting is that the two price stories point in opposite directions, and neither maker mentions the other’s half.
Clearsource Premier
SYSTM-002
Two oversized canisters on a powder-coated chassis. 0.2 micron absolute second stage, 6+ GPM, 2,000 gallon rating, standard cartridges — and a one-year, original-owner warranty.
$$$$
Check price at Clearsource(opens in a new tab)Beech Lane Dual
BL-113
Two-stage 5 µm sediment + 0.5 µm carbon block with brass fittings. Lifetime warranty via Amazon Order ID — and almost no other published specification.
$$
Check price at Beech Lane(opens in a new tab)Specification by specification
| Specification | Clearsource Premier | Beech Lane Dual |
|---|---|---|
| Micron Rating Not just finer — defined. Clearsource states absolute and explains the term; Beech Lane publishes a bare number with no rating basis | 0.2 micron absolute Better | 0.5 micron |
| Rated Capacity Gallons The only published capacity in this comparison — 2,000 gallons. Beech Lane states none, so a replacement schedule cannot be computed for it | 2,000 gallons Better | Not published |
| Flow Rate A published 6 to 6.5 GPM against no figure at all | 6 to 6.5 GPM, per Clearsource Better | Not specified by the manufacturer |
| Cartridge Size Standard 2.5 x 10 in means commodity replacements. Beech Lane publishes no dimensions, which ties you to its own packs | Standard 2.5 x 10 in cartridges, per the Clearsource FAQ Better | Not specified by the manufacturer |
| Warranty Lifetime beats one year, even read alongside the Amazon Order ID condition. Clearsource covers the original owner for twelve months on a $500 system | 1 year | Lifetime Better |
| Certifications A tie neither should be proud of — no certifier is named on either product page | None published | None published |
The two price stories
The purchase price says Clearsource costs seven times as much. True at the checkout, and it is the whole comparison as the roundups tell it.
The running-cost story runs the other way. Clearsource’s systems take standard 2.5 x 10 inch cartridges — its own FAQ says so — which means the sediment and carbon stages can be replaced with commodity cartridges from any filtration supplier, on the schedule its published 2,000 gallon capacity lets you actually calculate. Beech Lane publishes no cartridge dimensions and no capacity: you buy its replacement packs, on faith, on a calendar. A cheap system with proprietary-in-practice consumables and an expensive system with commodity consumables converge over a few years of full-time use — the arithmetic for turning that capacity figure into your own schedule is in how often to replace your RV water filter.
And the warranty story inverts the price a second time. The $70 system is warranted for life; the $500 system for one year, original owner only, proof of purchase required, commercial use excluded. Beech Lane’s lifetime term has its own asterisk — claims require an Amazon Order ID, so keep the order in your account history — but an asterisked lifetime still reads better than an unconditional single year on a premium product.
What each maker publishes — and goes quiet about
| Clearsource publishes | Beech Lane publishes | |
|---|---|---|
| Stage ratings | 0.2 micron, absolute, with the term defined | 5 micron and 0.5 micron, basis unstated |
| Flow rate | 6–6.5 GPM | — |
| Capacity | 2,000 gallons | — |
| Cartridge standard | 2.5 x 10 in | — |
| Replacement guidance | Usage-tiered, three levels | — |
| Warranty term | One year, original owner | Lifetime, via Amazon Order ID |
| Certifications | — | — |
The pattern is the same one we found comparing lock makers: each company is strong exactly where the other is silent, and neither publishes the one thing that would settle the argument — a third-party listing. Buyers have noticed: the forum threads that keep producing this shortlist include people writing to Beech Lane to ask what its micron ratings actually mean, because nothing on the listing says.
The shared failure: nobody names a certifier
Which one, for which camper
For full-timers and fine filtration
Clearsource Premier
The only published 0.2 micron absolute rating in the category, real flow and capacity figures, and standard cartridges that keep running costs honest.
For weekenders and first systems
Beech Lane Dual
The staged 5-then-0.5 micron layout at a fraction of the price, with the category's longest warranty — bought through the right channel.
Full-timers and most-weekend campers: Clearsource. The capacity and flow figures exist, the cartridges are commodity, and the 0.2 absolute second stage is the finest documented filtration sold for RVs. At full-time throughput you will hit its 2,000 gallon rating in roughly two months — a consumable schedule you can plan because the number is published.
Weekenders, first rigs, one-trip-a-month campers: Beech Lane. The staged architecture is right, the brass fittings are a real advantage over plastic at this price, and at 150 gallons a month the unpublished capacity matters less — you will replace on the season boundary anyway. Buy it through Amazon or direct so the lifetime warranty actually attaches, and budget for its own replacement packs.
Whoever buys either: the campground end of the equation — whose water you are filtering and what can go wrong between the well and your tap — is covered in is campground water safe to drink.
Questions worth answering
Is the Clearsource system worth the extra money over Beech Lane?
If you live in the rig or camp most weekends, usually yes — you get the only published 0.2 micron absolute rating in the category, a stated 2,000 gallon capacity, roughly double the published flow, and standard 2.5 x 10 inch cartridges that keep replacement costs commodity-priced. For a few weekends a season, the arithmetic flips: Beech Lane's staged layout does the everyday job for about a seventh of the outlay.
Do Clearsource and Beech Lane use the same replacement cartridges?
Clearsource says its systems take standard 2.5 x 10 inch cartridges, so generic sediment and carbon replacements fit — though its 0.2 micron second stage is its own cartridge. Beech Lane publishes no cartridge dimensions at all, which in practice ties you to its own replacement packs. The cheap system is the one with the replacement lock-in, which is the opposite of what the shelf prices suggest.
Which has the better warranty?
On paper, Beech Lane by a distance — a lifetime warranty against Clearsource's one year, original owner only. Read the conditions, though: Beech Lane's claims process requires an Amazon Order ID and covers purchases made through Amazon or direct only. Both warranties are narrower than their headline word, which is normal for this category — the difference is one headline says lifetime and the other says one year.
Is either system NSF certified?
Neither names a certification listing on its product pages. Clearsource describes its 0.2 micron rating as absolute and defines the term; Beech Lane publishes bare numbers with no nominal-or-absolute statement. Every performance figure in this comparison is a manufacturer claim, and we label it accordingly — no third-party listing exists to check either against.
What do RV owners say about the two?
The pairing itself comes from owners — forum and Reddit threads keep arriving at exactly this shortlist, with buyers contacting Beech Lane directly to ask about its micron ratings because the answers are not published anywhere. Treat owner reports on both as sentiment rather than measurement; what they mostly establish is that these two are the budget and premium poles of the same decision.