Buy the Proven Model 2516 if you want to know what you are getting. Proven publishes its materials, offers a documented ladder of cylinders up to Medeco and Abloy, maintains a coupler index, and will identify fitment from photographs you email them. It is the better-documented product, and in a category where almost nobody publishes anything, that counts.
Buy the Ft. Knox lock if a replaceable cylinder is worth more to you than published specifications. Its surround hasp takes a separate puck lock, so the cylinder is a component you choose, upgrade and replace — and it carries a limited lifetime warranty, which Proven does not publish at all.
The thing to understand before either purchase: on both locks, the cylinder is a separate decision from the lock, and on both it costs extra. Proven itemises it as an upgrade. Ft. Knox itemises it as a puck lock sold separately. The headline price of either is not the price of a lock you would want.
Proven 2516
2516
Integrated puck in a billet aluminum or 303 stainless body. Cylinder chosen at order, from tubular up to Abloy. No published warranty.
$$$$
Check price at Proven Industries(opens in a new tab)Ft. Knox Curt Style
Curt Style Coupler Lock
Surround hasp taking a separate, replaceable puck lock. Welded steel, yellow powder coat. Limited lifetime warranty, few published specs.
$$$
Check price at Ft. Knox Locks(opens in a new tab)Specification by specification
| Specification | Proven 2516 | Ft. Knox Curt Style |
|---|---|---|
| Cylinder Type Not on quality — Proven offers better cylinders. On architecture: a separate puck can be replaced or upgraded later, a built-in one cannot | 7-pin tubular (Cobra) as standard. Proven disc detainer, Medeco M3 and Abloy cylinders are paid upgrades, not the default | Separate puck lock, not built in. Ft. Knox offers Trimax, Cobra-Sidewinder and Abloy Sentry cylinders in its own aluminium and steel puck bodies Better |
| Material Proven names the alloy and grade. Ft. Knox says welded steel and publishes no gauge on its own pages | Billet 6061 aluminium or solid 303 stainless steel, depending on option Better | Welded steel with reinforced hinges and hinge pins. Ft. Knox does not publish a gauge on its own product pages; retail listings state 3/16 in cold-rolled steel |
| Country Of Origin Proven states majority USA manufacture. Ft. Knox is Tulsa-based but does not state where its locks are made | Majority manufactured in the USA, per Proven Industries Better | Not stated on Ft. Knox's own pages. The company is based in Tulsa, Oklahoma, and its retail listings state Made in USA |
| Warranty A published limited lifetime term against no published term at all | Not published on the product page | Limited lifetime against manufacturing defects Better |
| Weight (lb) Neither publishes a weight, which for two locks sold on how much steel they contain is a strange omission from both | Not specified by the manufacturer | Not specified by the manufacturer |
| Coupler Styles Proven publishes a coupler index and identifies fitment from photographs. Ft. Knox sells by coupler family with less guidance | Most trigger latch and thumb latch couplers. Separate models cover other designs — 2516-A for Atwood yoke latch, 2516-B2 for cast steel, 2516-AS for Airstream Better | Curt and similar couplers on bumper-pull trailers |
Two different bets about what fails first
This is not two versions of one product. The companies have made opposite assumptions, and the whole comparison follows from that.
Proven builds the lock as one object. A welded or machined body with the puck integrated, and the cylinder specified when you order — Cobra tubular as standard, then Proven’s own disc detainer, then Medeco M3 or Abloy. The bet is that you decide once, correctly, and the lock is finished.
Ft. Knox builds the lock as a housing. The design is a surround hasp and puck lock reverse-engineered from the systems used on construction containers, where the hasp is structural and the puck is consumable. The bet is that the cylinder is the part with a service life — worn by weather, compromised by a lost key, or superseded by something better — and that you should be able to replace it without replacing the steel.
Both bets are defensible. Which is right for you depends on whether you think you will ever want to change the cylinder.
The cylinder arithmetic, which nobody puts side by side
Both brands advertise a base price that does not include the cylinder you actually want. They just present it differently.
- Proven ships the 2516 with a 7-pin tubular Cobra cylinder as standard. Its disc detainer is a paid upgrade, and Medeco M3 and Abloy cost more again. The same pattern applies to its PL-5 king pin lock, so it is brand policy rather than a quirk of one product.
- Ft. Knox sells the lock body and generally sells the puck lock separately, offering Trimax, Cobra-Sidewinder and Abloy Sentry cylinders in its own aluminum and steel puck bodies.
The practical consequence is the same in both cases: budget for the cylinder as a line item, and do not compare headline prices. A disc detainer resists picking and, where the discs sit deep in the body, drilling. A tubular cylinder is a lower grade. That difference matters more than any amount of steel around it, because ten pounds of body around a weak cylinder is a heavy lock rather than a secure one.
What each company is willing to publish
Documentation is where these two genuinely diverge, and each is strong exactly where the other is weak.
| Published on the maker’s own pages | Proven | Ft. Knox |
|---|---|---|
| Material and grade | Yes — billet 6061 aluminum or 303 stainless | Welded steel, no gauge stated |
| Cylinder options | Yes, with a named ladder | Yes — three cylinder families |
| Cylinder replaceable later | No — specified at order | Yes — it is a separate puck |
| Fitment help | Yes — coupler index plus photo identification | By coupler family only |
| Warranty term | No | Yes — limited lifetime against defects |
| Weight or dimensions | No | No |
| Country of manufacture | Yes — majority USA | Not stated; company is Tulsa-based |
Neither publishes a weight, which for two products sold substantially on how much steel they contain is a curious shared omission.
What owners actually say, and how much to trust it
The reason this comparison exists is that RV owners keep arriving at exactly this shortlist and then asking strangers to break the tie. Threads on several owner forums carry the same phrasing — people saying they have narrowed a coupler lock purchase down to these two brands and want to hear from anyone who has owned either.
Three themes recur in those threads. We report them as owner sentiment, not as testing, and none of it is something we or anyone else has measured:
- Proven locks are repeatedly noted as absent from the lock-defeat video compilations that circulate among owners, which readers there treat as meaningful.
- Owners of either brand generally report staying with it, and the complaints that surface tend to concern service and cylinder issues rather than a lock being defeated.
- The consensus, such as it is, is that both are well above the supermarket tier and that the choice is preference rather than a mistake either way.
Which to buy
Buy Proven if you want published materials, a cylinder ladder you can choose from, and real help identifying an unusual coupler — and you are willing to pay the upgrade so the cylinder matches the body.
Buy Ft. Knox if you want a cylinder you can swap later, a warranty term in writing, or you already run puck locks and want one key system across a trailer, a container and a job box.
Buy neither if your coupler is a common size and you simply want it locked. Both of these are premium purchases aimed at trailers worth protecting properly. A mid-price universal lock is the sensible answer for a light utility trailer, and the options are in our guide to the best trailer hitch locks.
Before you order either, identify your coupler — both brands sell by coupler design rather than by ball size alone, and what size coupler lock you need covers the three measurements that decide fitment. If you are protecting a fifth wheel rather than a bumper-pull trailer, Proven’s PL-5 appears in our king pin lock guide instead.
Questions worth answering
Which is better, Proven Industries or Ft. Knox?
For most buyers, Proven — because it publishes what its locks are made of, offers a documented cylinder ladder, and will identify fitment from photographs. Choose Ft. Knox if a replaceable cylinder matters to you, or if a published lifetime warranty matters more than published specifications. Neither is a bad lock; they are built on different assumptions about what wears out first.
Does the Ft. Knox lock come with the puck lock?
Generally not — the lock body and the puck lock are usually sold separately, so the headline price is not the price of a working lock. Check the specific listing before ordering. It is the direct equivalent of Proven charging extra for its disc detainer, just itemised differently.
Is the Proven Industries lock really aluminum?
It depends what you order. Proven's Model 2516 is offered in billet 6061 aluminum or solid 303 stainless steel. A widely circulated comparison article describes Proven's locks as aluminum without qualification, and a commenter identifying as Proven Industries disputes it in that article's own comments, describing an all-steel welded lock. Both descriptions are partly right, which is what happens when a brand sells the same model in two materials.
What cylinder should I get on either lock?
A disc detainer if you can. On the Proven that means paying to upgrade from the standard 7-pin tubular Cobra cylinder. On the Ft. Knox it means choosing which puck lock you buy alongside the body — they offer Trimax, Cobra-Sidewinder and Abloy Sentry. Either way the cylinder is a separate decision from the lock, and it is the decision that matters most.
Which one do RV owners actually recommend?
Both, and the forums where this question gets asked rarely reach consensus. What recurs in owner threads is that Proven locks are noticed to be absent from the lock-defeat video compilations that circulate, and that people who have bought either brand generally stay with it. Treat that as reported owner sentiment rather than evidence — it is what people say, not what anyone measured.